PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need Help to install ndiswrapper and setup WiFi, PLEASE HELP.......

Modern Mogul
May 5th, 2008, 11:50 PM
Ok SO I am completely new to Linux and I just installed Ubuntu on one of my spare laptops that I stopped using becuase I am trying to make the transition to linux, I know its way better than Vista...

So I installed Ubuntu the other day, and it does not recognize my internal wireless network card... Ive been on numerous sites and believe that I can install ndiswrapper if 1) I knew what driver for the wifi card is needed and 2) i had a wired internet connection, but I have neither...

I did a clean install, completely wiping out the windows partition so i can't locate anything within the computer... So everything I do I would have to donwload on a different computer, copy it to a cd, and stick it on the desktop of the laptop running ubuntu (but its not installed)...

I downloaded ndiswrapper and copied it on to a cd, then copied it onto the laptop running Ubuntu...

I also downloaded and installed wifi radar, but the card is still not recognized...

OHHH and its the AMD64 version on a Gateway MX3417 Notebook which originally came with XP, but is Vista compatible (not sure if that makes a differnce)...

I tried sharing the internet connection with the other laptop that connects wirelessly (running Vista), lol, but thats another beast in itself...

I apologize in advance if this problem has already been addressed, but I have spent maybe a total of 8 hours within the past 2 days trying to find how to do this and have found nothing that works...
:confused::confused::confused::(<<<<<<<<<<<<<< SO PLEASE HELP >>>>>>>>>>> :(:confused::confused::confused:

Modern Mogul
May 12th, 2008, 09:44 PM
LOL, its been 6 days and no one has helped me... WOW...

Ayuthia
May 12th, 2008, 10:36 PM