PDA

View Full Version : Beginner C++ question

Polar67
May 5th, 2008, 02:37 AM
Hi Everybody.

I recently started programming again after nearly 2 decades.
Found a book from 1996 on C++ and, given that Linux comes with some nifty tools, i thought i'd give it a try.
I am however having a problem with this piece of, admittedly very basic, code:

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main(void)

{
cout << "Bip\a\t";
sleep(10);
cout << "Bip\a\t";
sleep(10);
cout << "Bip\a\n";
}

comments:
Originally this was an exercise in output switches, and the "cout" command consisted of one line only, looking like this:

cout << "Bip\a\tBip\a\tBip\a";

The original command gave me 3 Bip's on a line but i only heard one beep from the speakers.
I then added the sleep commands, thinking that i'd force the three "\a" switches apart so that i'd be able to actually hear three beeps.

Instead, and this is basically where i'm :confused: stuck, the program acts kind of like a ketchup bottle, i.e. nothing for 20 seconds and then everything happens at once.
Evidently the "sleep" commands are yanked out of context and executed first.
Please help - what am i doing wrong.

pmasiar
May 5th, 2008, 02:45 AM
What are your goals? If you do not program for living, IMHO time investment needed to really grok C++ is not worth the reward. After 20 years :-) there are more approachable languages. Even if you programmed before, it was 20 years ago, and starting with Python would make sense IMHO.

See my sig

stroyan
May 5th, 2008, 02:47 AM
You need to either flush the cout buffer or set it to be unbuffered.
Either

int main(void)

{
cout << "Bip\a\t";
cout.flush();
sleep(10);
cout << "Bip\a\t";
cout.flush();
sleep(10);
cout << "Bip\a\n";
return 0;
}
or

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main(void)

{
cout << unitbuf;
cout << "Bip\a\t";
sleep(10);
cout << "Bip\a\t";
sleep(10);
cout << "Bip\a\n";
return 0;
}

Polar67
May 5th, 2008, 04:45 AM