PDA

View Full Version : ah! back to normal

chucky chuckaluck
May 4th, 2008, 05:12 PM
so, i went nuts installing, first, openbox and thunar, then a bunch of other stuff, including kdemod, and i was even thinking of looking at gnome. i was driving myself nuts. when i get in that state, i start trying to match everything up (when i say 'match', i mean make it all click together. i've been asked "you think that matches?" on more than one occassion). so now, i'm back to xmonad, xterm, terminal apps and only firefox and gimp, out of all those gui apps, remain. no more chasing down the sirens that nearly claimed ulysses.

finferflu
May 4th, 2008, 06:11 PM
I know what you mean. In fact, I have been using Gnome for a couple of months after several months of heavy usage of tiling WMs (and now I'm back home, obviously).
The problem is that most, if not all, the GUI apps are designed to fit well with floating WMs, and don't behave nicely in tiling WMs. So, you are almost bewitched by the apparent consistency in look and feel, everything seems to fit into place. But it's like a circular argument.

I'm planning to start learning some programming, and I will try to give my contribution to the GUI interface, I have some confused ideas of what I want to achieve (see thread (http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=42773)), but I believe it will all make much more sense when I sit down with the proper tools in hand.

Barrucadu
May 4th, 2008, 06:45 PM
I've never actually tried a tiling wm, I would imagine it a bit difficult to get used to.

chucky chuckaluck
May 4th, 2008, 07:23 PM
actually, i wasn't thinking so much about lining up the apps as i was thinking about 'the look'. you know, having everything support the overwhelming oddity of my wallpaper. there's always something wrong, like i installed the xfce-terminal just to get the right font (century schoolbook l looks retarded in xterm).