PDA

View Full Version : MonoDevelop Troubles

darkoz
May 4th, 2008, 08:42 AM
Hi Ubuntu people,

I have been using Ubuntu exclusively at home for a few months now and while I am a ASP.NET web developer by profession have only recently installed Mono and MonoDevelop and gave ASP.NET development on Ubuntu a go.

Obviously I wouldn't be starting a thread had I not have encountered some problems (and searched for solutions on www.just****ingoogleit.com) so here goes:

1) Syntax highlighting for aspx and config files doesn't work. As in all the text is the default black colour. I don't even know where to start with this, but I would have thought that MonoDevelop would have an easy way of adding schemes.

2) I am unsure how the code completion is supposed to work. It works fine on a "." character bringing up the expected stuff, however nothing when i start a new line (works if forced with Ctrl-Space). Does anyone know if this is intended functionality? If not any pointers on how to fix it?

3) Code completion doesnt work at all in aspx or config files. Again is this intended or is my install broken? Any tips would be welcome.

Any help would be muchly appreciated.

Darko

LaRoza
May 4th, 2008, 08:50 AM

"ASP" and ".NET" are very closely tied to Windows. I do recommend using Windows and Windows tools for such development.

darkoz
May 4th, 2008, 11:28 AM
Thank you for responding LaRoza, I am aware that the best tools are currently on Windows since this is what I do as a day job. However as I have a choice of what tools to use at home, I would rather stick to trying to make MonoDevelop work for me.

LaRoza
May 4th, 2008, 06:35 PM
Thank you for responding LaRoza, I am aware that the best tools are currently on Windows since this is what I do as a day job. However as I have a choice of what tools to use at home, I would rather stick to trying to make MonoDevelop work for me.

If this is for personaly use, you might want to look at more native Linux solutions.