PDA

View Full Version : Hi

Ryukue
May 4th, 2008, 06:16 AM
Hi i am new to ubuntu so i just thought i would introduce myself.:)

kevin11951
May 4th, 2008, 06:19 AM
well then, whats your name, have u used Linux before, what was your previous OS?

Ryukue
May 4th, 2008, 06:20 AM
my name is zane i have not used linux before and my previous OS was xp

i am the noobiest of all noobs

swoll1980
May 4th, 2008, 06:24 AM
Hello ):P

Ryukue
May 4th, 2008, 06:26 AM
hello

NightwishFan
May 4th, 2008, 06:29 AM
Welcome, good sir. Hopefully you are enjoying Linux enough to stick with us.

Ryukue
May 4th, 2008, 06:30 AM
Welcome, good sir. Hopefully you are enjoying Linux enough to stick with us. its really confusing but i hope to learn to code and contribute to the ubuntu project ^_^

FuturePilot
May 4th, 2008, 06:30 AM
Welcome! :)

Ryukue
May 4th, 2008, 06:35 AM
does anyone have any tips i should know?

NightwishFan
May 4th, 2008, 06:38 AM
Yeah. Use KDE. :popcorn:

Ryukue
May 4th, 2008, 06:40 AM
Yeah. Use KDE. :popcorn:
KDE? you lost me

To Google and away

MasterNetra
May 4th, 2008, 06:43 AM
does anyone have any tips i should know?

Hi! :) Yes use Kubuntu 8.04 (Hardy) Instead of Ubuntu 8.04 (Hardy).

Don't change root ownership from stuff unless you actually know what your doing.

So what kind of user are you? (Casual, Gamer, Developer, etc)

Ryukue
May 4th, 2008, 06:45 AM
hmm the install directions are mindblowing @_@

Ryukue
May 4th, 2008, 06:46 AM
Hi! :) Yes use Kubuntu 8.04 (Hardy) Instead of Ubuntu 8.04 (Hardy).

Don't change root ownership from stuff unless you actually know what your doing.

So what kind of user are you? (Casual, Gamer, Developer, etc)

kinda hardcore gamer/dev :P

NightwishFan
May 4th, 2008, 06:47 AM
K desktop environment. It can be used on Ubuntu or you can install Kubuntu (Which is Ubuntu with KDE. Ubuntu uses "Gnome" by the way.) Personally I find kde far better, but then again that is me. :popcorn:

http://www.kde.org
http://www.kubuntu.org