PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] root password

wordmaster
May 3rd, 2008, 08:32 PM
I have downloaded the java plugin for firefox and I am told I have to go to the root by typing su to set it up.

When I type su, it asks for root password. I try the log in password and it does not work.

How do I get there from here?

Please forgive all the questions. I am a newbie trying to get my new install all set up and working. Thank you.

SunnyRabbiera
May 3rd, 2008, 08:34 PM
for this use the sudo command instead of su.
also you can get java via the repositories.

wordmaster
May 3rd, 2008, 08:43 PM
Thank you very much. If I go to the synaptic manager, it shows a bunch of java stuff. Which one do I need for the basic java environment and Firefox plugin?

Also, when I type sudo, instead of asking for a password I get a list of options to use with sudo. So what do I do from there to load a program? I have used DOS, RS-DOS, and the old OS9 (not Mac) but linux and its commands and command structure are all new to me. Your help is much needed and much appreciated.

SunnyRabbiera
May 3rd, 2008, 08:49 PM
Actually if you have instructions telling you to use su use sudo instead, sudo alone wont do anything unless you tell it to, in this case to install java via the method it gives you (su sh install jre-6u5-linux-i586.bin)
you type in sudo sh jre-6u5-linux-i586.bin
you get me?
if you get any instructions that tell you to use su, substitute it with sudo.

as for the plugin, make sure to remove the openjdk versions first (they really are not needed) and just install the following:
sun-java6-bin
sun-java6-fonts
sun-java6-jre
sun-java6-plugin
those should do it for you.

Hardrive
May 3rd, 2008, 09:03 PM
If you ever do need to have the root password, it's easy to set it. On a user account that has permissions to administer the system, do this:

$ sudo passwd
Enter new UNIX password:
Retype new UNIX password:
passwd: password updated successfully

* It may ask you for your account's password