PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Question Regarding Virus Protection And Firewalls

Aleki
May 3rd, 2008, 08:24 PM
I'm rather new to Linux, in fact Ubuntu is my first OS other than Windows. What all do I need to make sure my new PC is secure? I have no clue as to what I need to keep this OS stable.

Any help?

p_quarles
May 3rd, 2008, 09:04 PM
Please read the "Ubuntu Security" sticky thread at the top of this forum. If you any (more specific) questions after that, please ask here.

cpkoch
June 29th, 2008, 06:29 PM
OK .. What is a sticky thread? Are there any answers to the question that can be understood just by using plain language phrases like "yes" or "no"?
I looked all over for a sticky thread and am at a loss.

brian_p
June 29th, 2008, 06:43 PM
OK .. What is a sticky thread? Are there any answers to the question that can be understood just by using plain language phrases like "yes" or "no"?

Yes. Maybe.

I looked all over for a sticky thread and am at a loss.

Post #2.

hyper_ch
June 29th, 2008, 07:14 PM
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=765421

and no, you generally don't need antivirus or twinker with any firewall.

kevdog
June 29th, 2008, 10:19 PM
I think a blanket statement stating you don't need a firewall is a little misleading. What role do you want your computer to play? If you are setting it up as a router that shares connections with mixed windows and linux boxes, then I would say use of iptables is definitely a plus. If you are using your box simply as a desktop replacement, then a firewall(iptables) is probably less important.

hyper_ch
June 30th, 2008, 07:10 AM
that's why I said "generally" ;)

aysiu
June 30th, 2008, 07:16 AM
Yes, please explain a bit more what you'll be using Ubuntu for.

Will it be a server of some kind (web server, file server, mail server)?

kevdog
June 30th, 2008, 01:26 PM
Generally we would be in agreement. Hopefully the OP will provide clarification.

wbutchart
June 30th, 2008, 03:06 PM