PDA

View Full Version : ESD Wrist Strap

intense.ego
May 3rd, 2008, 03:02 PM
I am about to install some RAM in my laptop and I plan on using an ESD wrist strap I purchased. I have never used one before so I want to know how to use it. I know you have to connect it to some part of the computer, but considering this is a laptop, where should I connect it to?

PS: To any mods, if this belongs in another subforum, please feel free to move it there.

LaRoza
May 3rd, 2008, 03:07 PM
I am about to install some RAM in my laptop and I plan on using an ESD wrist strap I purchased. I have never used one before so I want to know how to use it. I know you have to connect it to some part of the computer, but considering this is a laptop, where should I connect it to?

PS: To any mods, if this belongs in another subforum, please feel free to move it there.

For laptops: Unplug it (duh). Remove the battery.

For the laptop, I never actually opened it to really see. Any metal surface should do that is on the laptop. (Be careful when handling the other module as well, don't touch it too much)

For a desktop, and metal part of the case works.

intense.ego
May 3rd, 2008, 03:14 PM
So, I just attach the crocodile clip to any metal part I can?

If I may ask, how exactly does this work (I understand it protects your computer by preventing electrostatic discharge)? Does it just take all the electrostaticity out of my arm and ground it slowly using the metal?

LaRoza
May 3rd, 2008, 03:17 PM

If I may ask, how exactly does this work (I understand it protects your computer by preventing electrostatic discharge)? Does it just take all the electrostaticity out of my arm and ground it slowly using the metal?

It doesn't move the static electricity anywhere. It just make you and the object the same charge so you are electrically the same. It is the difference in charge that makes the difference.