PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] username/password problem

wordmaster
May 3rd, 2008, 05:08 AM
Hello,

I used Wubi to set up Ubuntu 8.04. I have a dual boot system booting 98SE and 2000Pro. I set it up from 98SE.

Everything seemed to work, Ubuntu loaded up, the computer rebooted, came up to the Ubuntu desktop and asked for a username and password.

Wubi asked for a password and I used "me" as the password. It did not as for a username.

I have tried various and sundry things with no success, just wrong username or password error.

I am a long time windoze tech, but totally new to linux. Looking for answers to this before starting a new topic, I saw references to going to grub and using various commands and finding a boot menu with grub.

When I boot, first I get a choice of win2000 or 98, I choose 98 and I get a choice of windows or ubuntu. I choose Ubuntu and it boots to the desktop. Where is grub?

Any and all help greatly appreciated. Thank you.

frup
May 3rd, 2008, 05:33 AM
wubi may not use grub.

I could help you easily if it wasn't a wubi system.

Aearenda
May 3rd, 2008, 05:48 AM
The user name and password needed by Ubuntu at the main login screen has nothing to do with Grub. Grub is the equivalent of NTLDR for Windows XP, only much more flexible. What you need here is the equivalent of the Windows username and password. These are usually set on the first Wubi setup screen.

Have you tried using the same username as you have on Windows, and 'me' as the password?

Aearenda
May 3rd, 2008, 06:07 AM