PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Nvidia graphic driver doesn't seem to work & cause 8000x600 resolution

cooltuyul
May 3rd, 2008, 03:15 AM
i believe i have a nvidia 7300le, im running ubuntu 8.04 64bit, ive tried evny (a nvidia/ati driver downloader) and it installed the driver (i believe nvidia-glx-dev). however, when i boot up the computer, i get a window saying "ubuntu will run on low graphics mode" and there is a configure, shut down, and continue button. when i press configure, i get a window showing two tabs: (i think) display and driver. when i press continue, it boots up normal - but in 800x 600 resolution! what's goin' on?!

im just a newb trying to learn the ways of linux, so any help is appreciated

Pumalite
May 3rd, 2008, 03:25 AM
Go to the Nvidia site, download appropriate driver for your card (if there is one) and install it through a virtual Terminal. If you need guidance about Virtual Terminal installation, come back.

cooltuyul
May 3rd, 2008, 06:20 AM
ive downloaded it, and uh... what virtual terminal? is it the terminal under apps-> accesories->terminal? if so how do i install it?

cooltuyul
May 3rd, 2008, 06:32 AM
Would any of these on this website work?
http://packages.debian.org/nvidia-glx

Pumalite
May 3rd, 2008, 01:15 PM
Tell me the exact name of the driver you downloaded.

cooltuyul
May 5th, 2008, 05:10 AM
yeah itd be NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-169.12-pkg2.run. however it didn't work so i downloaded envy and usedit. i expect it is the same driver.
heres the weblink:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux_display_amd64_169.12.html

PmDematagoda
May 5th, 2008, 05:18 AM
First move to a tty by pressing Ctrl+Alt+F1, then execute:-

sudo /etc/init.d/gdm stop
to kill the X-Server, then install the necessary prerequisites for the Nvidia installer with:-

sudo apt-get install build-essential

After that is completed run the installer with(make sure that it exists in the folder where you are executing the command from):-