PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 8.04 Installation Problem

DoktorMHz
May 2nd, 2008, 05:29 PM
Hi all,

When I boot with the 64 bit version of 8.04 LTS Desktop Edition CD I got the main menu OK. When I choose Install Ubuntu the screens goes black with the cursor blinking at the top left and nothing happens. I've tried with i386 version and alternate version but problem remains. Any idea of what is the problem?

Thanks

Dok

Slim Odds
May 2nd, 2008, 05:33 PM
Would you care to provide ANY details?

Why do people not even mention the type of computer? etc.

DoktorMHz
May 2nd, 2008, 05:41 PM
Sorry. I am a newbie.

Computer: AMD 64-Bit 3.2GHz
Graphic Card NVIDIA GeForce 6600 GT AGP
RAM 2G Kingston Value-RAM
Monitor ViewSonic VA2012W

I have Ubuntu Gutsy Gibson installed and performed an Upgrade that did not succeed. After that I can't boot anymore. I decided to make a fresh 8.04 installation.

DoktorMHz
May 3rd, 2008, 01:50 PM
Well....after reading some of the many problems with 8.04 installation or upgrade I feel so bad because of my decision to upgrade. Till now no one had the same problem described on this topic. There's nothing I can do to make 8.04 work. I burned again all 3 cd's (i386, 64bit and alternate version) at low speed and I have the same problem. I can see the menu with all the option and if I choose any of the option there's a bar stating "Loading Linux Kernel" and after the bar completes 100% the screen goes black and nothing more happens. I was an addicted to 7.10 version but I've lost all the previous data.

Now my hard drive is formatted with ext3 and with a 64 bit 7.04 fresh installation. It will remain OFF until the day I can install 8.04 with no errors.

I am sorry for not being a geek. Just a curious user in search of knowledge.

blackwell
May 3rd, 2008, 02:24 PM
i got this same problem on my

AMD Athlon 64 X2 dual 5200+

any ideas to fix it?

DoktorMHz
May 3rd, 2008, 08:01 PM