PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] No dvd / cdrom in Hardy



gwoodruff
May 1st, 2008, 09:34 PM
Since I upgraded to Hardy (via update manager) I can no longer mount my dvd rw drive. I can boot into Gutsy and the device is listed and mounts fine ect. If I boot into Hardy no cdrom drive is listed in /DEV folder. I have a Hardy alternate install disk that will boot and start the install process until it scans for a cdrom. Then it errors and cannot locate one (neither can I). i am starting to think this may be some kernal error as I see other posts but with no solution.

I have:

changed IDE cables
changed drives from CS to Master/Slave
made sure cdvd is first boot device

All with no success. I would appreciate any help offered!

Thanks, Gary

gwoodruff
May 1st, 2008, 10:10 PM
Here is some data for those that would like to see:

MOUNT

[sudo] password for gary:
/dev/sda1 on / type ext3 (rw,errors=remount-ro)
proc on /proc type proc (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
/sys on /sys type sysfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
varrun on /var/run type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,mode=0755)
varlock on /var/lock type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,mode=1777)
udev on /dev type tmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
devshm on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
lrm on /lib/modules/2.6.24-16-generic/volatile type tmpfs (rw)
/dev/sda5 on /home type ext3 (rw)
/dev/sda6 on /tmp type ext3 (rw)
/dev/sda7 on /usr type ext3 (rw)
/dev/sda8 on /var type ext3 (rw)
securityfs on /sys/kernel/security type securityfs (rw)
gary@Ath-64:~$

fstab

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
# /dev/hda1
UUID=e3a08ffd-b0e0-434c-b0dc-b8875bb714f7 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
# /dev/hda5
UUID=2b95ec6e-ba65-4986-8ccf-6067ab77fb8d /home ext3 defaults 0 2
# /dev/hda6
UUID=d160bd4d-5d57-4a14-8cf4-201104591f55 /tmp ext3 defaults 0 2
# /dev/hda7
UUID=a763d82d-b1aa-4146-af21-5aad9b6f1786 /usr ext3 defaults 0 2
# /dev/hda8
UUID=3b79fa72-086d-4464-b686-dcf843b14e5e /var ext3 defaults 0 2
# /dev/hda9
UUID=5aa7b1d4-8577-42f4-ba76-84f0ecece3a6 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/hda /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec 0 0

MTAB

/dev/sda1 / ext3 rw,errors=remount-ro 0 0
proc /proc proc rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev 0 0
/sys /sys sysfs rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev 0 0
varrun /var/run tmpfs rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,mode=0755 0 0
varlock /var/lock tmpfs rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,mode=1777 0 0
udev /dev tmpfs rw,mode=0755 0 0
devshm /dev/shm tmpfs rw 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,gid=5,mode=620 0 0
lrm /lib/modules/2.6.24-16-generic/volatile tmpfs rw 0 0
/dev/sda5 /home ext3 rw 0 0
/dev/sda6 /tmp ext3 rw 0 0
/dev/sda7 /usr ext3 rw 0 0
/dev/sda8 /var ext3 rw 0 0
securityfs /sys/kernel/security securityfs rw 0 0

LSHW

ath-64
description: Desktop Computer
product: A13G
vendor: PCCHIPS
width: 32 bits
capabilities: smbios-2.2 dmi-2.2 smp-1.4 smp
configuration: boot=normal chassis=desktop cpus=0
*-core
description: Motherboard
product: A13G
vendor: PCCHIPS
physical id: 0
slot: ��
*-firmware
description: BIOS
vendor: Phoenix Technologies, LTD
physical id: 0
version: 6.00 PG (05/10/2007)
size: 128KiB
capacity: 448KiB
capabilities: isa pci pnp apm upgrade shadowing cdboot bootselect socketedrom edd int13floppy360 int13floppy1200 int13floppy720 int13floppy2880 int5printscreen int9keyboard int14serial int17printer int10video acpi usb ls120boot zipboot
*-cpu:0
description: CPU
product: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3500+
vendor: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD]
physical id: 3
bus info: cpu@0
version: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3500+
slot: Socket M2
size: 2200MHz
capacity: 3GHz
width: 64 bits
clock: 201MHz
capabilities: fpu fpu_exception wp vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp x86-64 3dnowext 3dnow up rep_good pni cx16 lahf_lm svm extapic cr8_legacy 3dnowprefetch cpufreq
*-cache:0
description: L1 cache
physical id: d
slot: Internal Cache
size: 128KiB
capacity: 128KiB
capabilities: synchronous internal write-back
*-cache:1
description: L2 cache
physical id: f
slot: External Cache
size: 512KiB
capacity: 512KiB
capabilities: synchronous internal write-back
*-cpu:1 DISABLED
description: CPU
vendor: Unknown
physical id: 6
bus info: cpu@1
version: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3500+
slot: Socket M2
size: 2211MHz
capacity: 3GHz
clock: 201MHz
*-cache:0
description: L1 cache
physical id: e
slot: Internal Cache
size: 128KiB
capacity: 128KiB
capabilities: synchronous internal write-back
*-cache:1
description: L2 cache
physical id: 10
slot: External Cache
size: 512KiB
capacity: 512KiB
capabilities: synchronous internal write-back
*-memory:0
description: System Memory
physical id: 22
slot: System board or motherboard
size: 4GiB
*-bank:0
description: DIMM
physical id: 0
slot: A0
size: 2GiB
width: 64 bits
*-bank:1
description: DIMM
physical id: 1
slot: A1
size: 2GiB
width: 64 bits
*-bank:2
description: DIMM [empty]
physical id: 2
slot: A2
width: 64 bits
*-bank:3
description: DIMM [empty]
physical id: 3
slot: A3
width: 64 bits
*-memory:1 UNCLAIMED
description: RAM memory
product: MCP61 Memory Controller
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: 7
bus info: pci@0000:00:00.0
version: a1
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz (15.2ns)
capabilities: ht bus_master cap_list
configuration: latency=0
*-isa
description: ISA bridge
product: MCP61 LPC Bridge
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: 1
bus info: pci@0000:00:01.0
version: a2
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: isa bus_master
configuration: latency=0
*-serial
description: SMBus
product: MCP61 SMBus
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: 1.1
bus info: pci@0000:00:01.1
version: a2
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: pm cap_list
configuration: driver=nForce2_smbus latency=0 module=i2c_nforce2
*-memory:2 UNCLAIMED
description: RAM memory
product: MCP61 Memory Controller
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: 1.2
bus info: pci@0000:00:01.2
version: a2
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz (15.2ns)
configuration: latency=0
*-usb:0
description: USB Controller
product: MCP61 USB Controller
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: 2
bus info: pci@0000:00:02.0
version: a3
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: pm ohci bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=ohci_hcd latency=0 maxlatency=1 mingnt=3 module=ohci_hcd
*-usb:1
description: USB Controller
product: MCP61 USB Controller
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: 2.1
bus info: pci@0000:00:02.1
version: a3
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: debug pm ehci bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=ehci_hcd latency=0 maxlatency=1 mingnt=3 module=ehci_hcd
*-pci:0
description: PCI bridge
product: MCP61 PCI bridge
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: 4
bus info: pci@0000:00:04.0
version: a1
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: pci ht subtractive_decode bus_master cap_list
*-multimedia
description: Audio device
product: MCP61 High Definition Audio
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: 5
bus info: pci@0000:00:05.0
version: a2
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: pm msi ht bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=HDA Intel latency=0 maxlatency=5 mingnt=2 module=snd_hda_intel
*-ide:0
description: IDE interface
product: MCP61 IDE
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: a
bus info: pci@0000:00:06.0
logical name: scsi0
version: a2
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: ide pm bus_master cap_list emulated
configuration: driver=pata_amd latency=0 maxlatency=1 mingnt=3 module=pata_amd
*-disk
description: ATA Disk
product: ST3120814A
vendor: Seagate
physical id: 0.0.0
bus info: scsi@0:0.0.0
logical name: /dev/sda
version: 3.AA
serial: 5LSCA7JL
size: 111GiB (120GB)
capabilities: partitioned partitioned:dos
configuration: ansiversion=5 signature=08020802
*-volume:0
description: EXT3 volume
vendor: Linux
physical id: 1
bus info: scsi@0:0.0.0,1
logical name: /dev/sda1
logical name: /
logical name: /dev/.static/dev
version: 1.0
serial: e3a08ffd-b0e0-434c-b0dc-b8875bb714f7
size: 956MiB
capacity: 956MiB
capabilities: primary bootable journaled extended_attributes large_files huge_files recover ext3 ext2 initialized
configuration: created=2008-04-28 15:42:49 filesystem=ext3 modified=2008-05-01 15:45:01 mount.fstype=ext3 mount.options=rw,relatime,errors=remount-ro,data=ordered mounted=2008-05-01 15:38:13 state=mounted
*-volume:1
description: Extended partition
physical id: 2
bus info: scsi@0:0.0.0,2
logical name: /dev/sda2
size: 110GiB
capacity: 110GiB
capabilities: primary extended partitioned partitioned:extended
*-logicalvolume:0
description: Linux filesystem partition
physical id: 5
logical name: /dev/sda5
logical name: /home
capacity: 88GiB
configuration: mount.fstype=ext3 mount.options=rw,relatime,data=ordered state=mounted
*-logicalvolume:1
description: Linux filesystem partition
physical id: 6
logical name: /dev/sda6
logical name: /tmp
capacity: 6675MiB
configuration: mount.fstype=ext3 mount.options=rw,relatime,data=ordered state=mounted
*-logicalvolume:2
description: Linux filesystem partition
physical id: 7
logical name: /dev/sda7
logical name: /usr
capacity: 9538MiB
configuration: mount.fstype=ext3 mount.options=rw,relatime,data=ordered state=mounted
*-logicalvolume:3
description: Linux filesystem partition
physical id: 8
logical name: /dev/sda8
logical name: /var
capacity: 4957MiB
configuration: mount.fstype=ext3 mount.options=rw,relatime,data=ordered state=mounted
*-logicalvolume:4
description: Linux swap / Solaris partition
physical id: 9
logical name: /dev/sda9
capacity: 1239MiB
capabilities: nofs
*-bridge
description: Ethernet interface
product: MCP61 Ethernet
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: 100
bus info: pci@0000:00:07.0
logical name: eth0
version: a2
serial: 00:1b:b9:96:fd:53
size: 100000000
capacity: 100000000
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: bridge pm msi ht bus_master cap_list ethernet physical mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=forcedeth driverversion=0.61 duplex=full ip=192.168.254.5 latency=0 link=yes maxlatency=20 mingnt=1 module=forcedeth multicast=yes port=MII speed=100MB/s
*-ide:1
description: IDE interface
product: MCP61 SATA Controller
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: 8
bus info: pci@0000:00:08.0
version: a2
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: ide pm msi ht bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=sata_nv latency=0 maxlatency=1 mingnt=3 module=sata_nv
*-pci:1
description: PCI bridge
product: MCP61 PCI Express bridge
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: 9
bus info: pci@0000:00:09.0
version: a2
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pci pm msi ht pciexpress normal_decode bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=pcieport-driver
*-pci:2
description: PCI bridge
product: MCP61 PCI Express bridge
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: b
bus info: pci@0000:00:0b.0
version: a2
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pci pm msi ht pciexpress normal_decode bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=pcieport-driver
*-pci:3
description: PCI bridge
product: MCP61 PCI Express bridge
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: c
bus info: pci@0000:00:0c.0
version: a2
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pci pm msi ht pciexpress normal_decode bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=pcieport-driver
*-display
description: VGA compatible controller
product: GeForce 6100 nForce 405
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: d
bus info: pci@0000:00:0d.0
version: a2
width: 64 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: pm msi vga_controller bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=nvidia latency=0 module=nvidia
*-pci:4
description: Host bridge
product: K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
vendor: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD]
physical id: 101
bus info: pci@0000:00:18.0
version: 00
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
*-pci:5
description: Host bridge
product: K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
vendor: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD]
physical id: 102
bus info: pci@0000:00:18.1
version: 00
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
*-pci:6
description: Host bridge
product: K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
vendor: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD]
physical id: 103
bus info: pci@0000:00:18.2
version: 00
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
*-pci:7
description: Host bridge
product: K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
vendor: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD]
physical id: 104
bus info: pci@0000:00:18.3
version: 00
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
configuration: driver=k8temp module=k8temp

gwoodruff
May 2nd, 2008, 03:14 PM
bump - need help please - anyone?

Pumalite
May 2nd, 2008, 03:22 PM
I think that /media should be hanging from hda1:
'/dev/hda /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec 0 0'

odin79
May 2nd, 2008, 07:43 PM
You are not alone, it seems like a lot of ppl are having this problem. IMHO I think it is a problem with Hardy.

gwoodruff
May 2nd, 2008, 08:26 PM
I think the fstab file is correct as I can still boot into Gutsy and this is the same fstab file used there. I have no problems with the this drive in Gutsy (shows up, mounts, ect), only when booted into Hardy is it missing. I will post a bug in launchpad

Pumalite
May 2nd, 2008, 09:42 PM
If you have both OS's and Gutsy owns the boot loader, then check the Hardy fstab and make sure the UUID's are OK.

gwoodruff
May 3rd, 2008, 01:09 AM
Pumalite - My fstab is posted above. I am not aware of different fstab files for the different releases. I am also confused as optical drives do not have uuid's in fstab (that I have seen).

Thanks, Gary

Pumalite
May 3rd, 2008, 02:38 AM
You have to make sure that blkid (in Terminal), fstab and menu.lst UUID's coincide, to boot Hardy.

gwoodruff
May 3rd, 2008, 07:00 AM
Pumalite, I am having trouble with my dvd drive when I boot to Hardy only. There is no UUID for optical drives in fstab. If you read all of my posts before offering advice your input may have more value.

pcmantinker
May 4th, 2008, 02:53 AM
I have gotten my cd/dvd-rw drive and cd-rom drive mounting properly. It's weird because I have to start Hardy with a CD/DVD in one of my drives. I guess Hardy automatically mounts the media if it's present in the drive. Why doesn't it do that to begin with? :P Here is what I have for fstab:


/dev/cdrom0 /media/cdrom0 auto ro,noauto,user,exec 0 0
/dev/cdrom1 /media/cdrom1 auto ro,noauto,user,exec 0 0

I'm assuming that code will work for as many CD/DVD drives you have in your system. Just increment the cdrom number with each line, starting with 0. I haven't tried booting without a CD in the drive yet, but I will let you know if that works as well.

publicidadno
May 4th, 2008, 12:42 PM
Maybe, try this:


gksudo gedit /etc/fstab

Replace:

/dev/cdrom0 /media/cdrom0 auto ro,noauto,user,exec 0 0
/dev/cdrom1 /media/cdrom1 auto ro,noauto,user,exec 0 0

By:

/dev/scd0 /media/cdrom0 auto ro,noauto,user,exec 0 0
/dev/scd1 /media/cdrom1 auto ro,noauto,user,exec 0 0


mount -a

Regards

gwoodruff
May 5th, 2008, 01:06 AM
I will give that a try Monday when I get to work. I am willing to try all but I do not believe the problem lies with fstab as Gutsy uses same fstab file and I can mount ect cd drive when booted into Gutsy. My guess is it's a problem with a different file or a kernel compatibility issue with my hardware.

cdrom line from fstab being used by Gutsy and Hardy

/dev/hda /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec 0 0

I have tried hdb as my hard drive partitions are listed as hda1-hda9 with the same result.
Hard drive and dvd burner are on same IDE cable (tried new cable also)
Tried CS and M/S jumper settings on drives

Can someone confirm for me that if the optical drive does not show up in lshw no terminal command will mount it, or will the correct command make the device show up on the output of lshw?

One thing I love about Ubuntu is the level of support you get on these forums. While not everyone is an expert (nor am I) they are all trying to help one another. It's a wonderful thing. I have never found this available for any windows release from 3.10 to Vista. The Microsoft support channel was the best there is, and that's not saying much. The only way to add insult to that injury is when you have to pay for the product and then are extorted to pay more for support to solve a flaw in their product.



Thanks, Gary

gwoodruff
May 5th, 2008, 08:45 PM
Bump- HELP.

I have tried changing the device to scd0 and scd1 in fstab (per above) with no success. The drive is ide and I believe this is to load a scuzzy drive? I have reverted back to:

/dev/hda /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec 0 0

as this works in Gutsy.

HELP PLEASE

cub
May 5th, 2008, 10:06 PM
I have gotten my cd/dvd-rw drive and cd-rom drive mounting properly. It's weird because I have to start Hardy with a CD/DVD in one of my drives. I guess Hardy automatically mounts the media if it's present in the drive.
That worked on my laptop as well. At least a workaround until the real issue is solved.

gwoodruff
May 6th, 2008, 05:47 PM
Bump - I am still looking for a solution for this problem. I am seeing more and more people reporting similar problems with their optical drives. I have multiple PC's running Hardy and only one is unable to locate the dvd drive. I believe this error his hardware specific.

trebor7_1
May 6th, 2008, 08:38 PM
Bump - I am still looking for a solution for this problem. I am seeing more and more people reporting similar problems with their optical drives. I have multiple PC's running Hardy and only one is unable to locate the dvd drive. I believe this error his hardware specific.

I have a similar problem all was well with 7.10 now although a DVD will mount ok it fails to play back. Also fails trying to burn an ISO image. I upgraded from 7.10 via the network but when I tried a clean install (onto a spare drive) I got the error 5 problem and could not load via CD. Had to burn the iso onto a DVD at min speed, that then loaded ok. However just got a great system that will not do anything with the DVD drive. Spent hours looking for fixes, no joy. Just going back to 7.10 now to make sure I was not dreaming everything was good then. If it is then maybe 8.10 will be next!

Pumalite
May 6th, 2008, 09:18 PM
Sometimes the issue is resolved making the CD Drive 2nd Master. Depending on BIOS, sometimes AHCI does the trick, other times: Auto.

bml137
May 6th, 2008, 11:27 PM
Bump- HELP.

I have tried changing the device to scd0 and scd1 in fstab (per above) with no success. The drive is ide and I believe this is to load a scuzzy drive? I have reverted back to:

/dev/hda /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec 0 0

as this works in Gutsy.

HELP PLEASE

I don't understand what is going on with Linux these days (I have been using it for almost 10 years now). For some reason, IDEs are now SCSIs. Maybe it is just Ubuntu though. The UUID thing doesn't make sense either, as now we mount specific hard drives instead of their logical location.

That said, you CD drive is likely scdX now (where X is a number). I have an IDE hd, IDE dvdrw, and SATA hd.

In Gutsy they were /dev/hda, /dev/hdc, and /dev/sda.
In Hardy they are /dev/sda, /dev/scd0, and /dev/sdb.

sda and sdb are random as to which points to which physical HD. I have udev rules to make /dev/hda and /dev/sata so things make sense.

Do an "ls -l /dev/sc*" to see if you have scd0. If you do, "ls -l /dev/cd" and you'll see it symbolically linked to scd0.

Pumalite
May 6th, 2008, 11:53 PM
http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t82/Pumalite/Screenshot-1.png

gwoodruff
May 7th, 2008, 03:42 PM
I tried changing the fstab to scd0 with no success. I have two other pc's running Hardy besides the one with the dvd problem. Both of these pc's fstab files use hdc for the optical dives. This problem is going on since the Hardy upgrade was released with no solution. I also have lockup issues with any browser (FF, SM, Opera) I have tried in Hardy. I may have to revert back to Gutsy and scrap Hardy as it is not proving to be a reliable or stable release for me. I do not like going backwards and would prefer to forge ahead and make this work -- HELP

Therion
May 7th, 2008, 04:05 PM
Don't know if it will help, but see my post: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=785417

gwoodruff
May 7th, 2008, 04:51 PM
Already changed the drive cables and currently have 40/80. My problem is a little different as I NEVER see my drive in HARDY. I am going to try a older cdrom (not dvd) and see what happens. IMHO Hardy was NOT ready for release.

trebor7_1
May 7th, 2008, 10:58 PM
Already changed the drive cables and currently have 40/80. My problem is a little different as I NEVER see my drive in HARDY. I am going to try a older cdrom (not dvd) and see what happens. IMHO Hardy was NOT ready for release.

Have to agree with you there gwoodruff. Finally got 7.10 on a spare drive and my dvd drive is perfect. Might play spot the difference but not sure I have the skills or patience

gwoodruff
May 8th, 2008, 12:29 AM
The problem is hardware specific. I put in an old cdrw drive and it was present and mountable. I thought OK maybe there was some corruption because of the upgrade process. I did a clean install with a Hardy AMD64 alt cd. I had to restart the install 3 different times as it hung up at random points during installation (all 3 different - wtf?). The process completed and everything seems fine with the cdrw. I reinstalled the dvd rw and no optical drives can be found once again. I have not tracked down the manufacturer as it is not clearly labeled on the drive.

cybergalvez
May 8th, 2008, 12:41 AM
I don't understand what is going on with Linux these days (I have been using it for almost 10 years now). For some reason, IDEs are now SCSIs. Maybe it is just Ubuntu though. The UUID thing doesn't make sense either, as now we mount specific hard drives instead of their logical location.

That said, you CD drive is likely scdX now (where X is a number). I have an IDE hd, IDE dvdrw, and SATA hd.

In Gutsy they were /dev/hda, /dev/hdc, and /dev/sda.
In Hardy they are /dev/sda, /dev/scd0, and /dev/sdb.

sda and sdb are random as to which points to which physical HD. I have udev rules to make /dev/hda and /dev/sata so things make sense.

Do an "ls -l /dev/sc*" to see if you have scd0. If you do, "ls -l /dev/cd" and you'll see it symbolically linked to scd0.

you can also do "sudo lshw | less" to see how your hardware is actually listed, thats how I found mine
Jose

cub
May 9th, 2008, 07:39 AM
The problem is hardware specific.
I agree. I have the same problem on a HP nx9010 laptop and there's not really a good way to change cables or the drive like suggested in other threads.

gwoodruff
May 9th, 2008, 09:18 PM
I am convinced this is a hardware compatibility issue. I have two other pc's running Hardy both with DVDRW drives that work properly. I cannot make the 3rd DVDRW drive show up. I will replace this drive. I am aslo starting a new post asking users to furnich thier model/make of dvdrw that is working or not. Maybe we can track down the issue.