PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ClamAv found 4 viruses? are they real?



iwannamarrymiju
May 1st, 2008, 12:57 PM
clamav found 4 viruses..........but only 3 appear in the quarantine window.

they are:

cache.VIRUS
gdm
gdm.VIRUS

are they real?

I have a lamp/mail/postgreysql server installation.

nidoo
May 3rd, 2008, 12:18 AM
I had the same problem as you.

Here is the link to my post and solution.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=778659&highlight=gdm.virus

iwannamarrymiju
May 4th, 2008, 12:31 AM
I had the same problem as you.

Here is the link to my post and solution.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=778659&highlight=gdm.virus

:confused:

so should I presume these are false positives? I thought gdm was necessary for my fluxbox gui.........

nidoo
May 7th, 2008, 01:28 AM
Definitely false positives, I also got the same results on a vanilla install. Whether it's something about the Gnome Display Manager or Clamav I don't know but I'm kind of surprised I couldn't really find information on this immediately. I'm so used to now just doing a quick search and getting an answer. Been a while since I had to play the troubleshooter.

mattress
May 8th, 2008, 10:23 AM
:confused:

so should I presume these are false positives? I thought gdm was necessary for my fluxbox gui.........


Sorry to go a little OT here but I thought this might help. You don't need GDM for Fluxbox. Personally I would use something like Slim if I wanted a "lighter" system. I believe it's in the repo's somewhere...

GDM is one of many graphical login managers, but none of them are completely necessary. They just make life easier when logging into the system.

HTH

-m

nidoo
May 9th, 2008, 12:58 AM
GDM is one of many graphical login managers, but none of them are completely necessary. They just make life easier when logging into the system.

HTH

-m

Oh I agree but for me it's necessary to have. The wife can handle GDM and one thing I learned early on with sharing the same computer with multiple accounts is make it simple make it universal. If I start changing things when it comes to how she's done things in the past I'm just asking for trouble.:lolflag:

ThorstenS
May 16th, 2008, 02:56 PM
Hi
You can upload potential malware to http://www.virustotal.com.

This page will scan the file with several AV scanners and return the results.

iwannamarrymiju
May 21st, 2008, 11:34 PM
Hi
You can upload potential malware to http://www.virustotal.com.

This page will scan the file with several AV scanners and return the results.

how do I upload them?I don't see any feature to do that with clamtk.

ThorstenS
May 24th, 2008, 06:38 PM
You have to identify the files on your computer and upload these files using the web interface of the service.
You should do this prior to deleting the files or quarantining them (some anti virus software offers to quarantine the malware)

HermanAB
May 24th, 2008, 08:44 PM
Well, unless you are serving email to Windows users, you need not run a virus scanner on Linux. It is just a waste of time really.

Cheers,

Herman