PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help: can't install it

Telius
May 1st, 2008, 11:12 AM
Hi guys,

I'm a noob with ubuntu and never used linux...

I'd like to have my first steps in this world but I have been trying to install ubuntu desktop for some days without success.

I first tried with the cd installation but even if the cd live ubuntu works fine (ubuntu seems to works fine in live mod), when I try to install it I get the errn5 (input/output error) always at 22% (when it starts copying files).

Tried defragmenting the hd and burning new cds (3 attempts) at low speed but it failed.

Then I passed to install ubuntu from an image on the harddrive (from windows) as the guide "Installation/FromWindows" says. But again no success, since after pressing "ubuntu" for the second time it starts but says "error 17" "file not found".

I tried also with a usb memory but when the bios starts it says it's not a bootable partition (or something similar)

I could also use an external cd (firewire) or an external usb hd but I can't find something useful to install ubuntu from them to my internal hd.

My system has 512mb ram and I've got 1 partition with windows xp (10Gb) and about 60Gb unformatted on which I would like to install ubuntu.

Thank you for you support :)

Patb
May 1st, 2008, 12:49 PM
Telius, this is only a partial reply.