PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Multiple Ubuntu Problems!! Help

Shadius
May 1st, 2008, 04:31 AM
Hi, I'm new to Ubuntu. Long story short, I need to remove Ubuntu and reclaim that partitioned space for Windows. How do I do that? I don't know if it's called GRUB, but the screen that lets you choose Ubuntu or Windows doesn't show up anymore. I had it dual-booting. Also, when I do "sudo gparted" it shows "unallocated", but when I do "fdisk -l" it shows the partitions. I don't know what's going on. I just want to go back to Windows. Somebody please help me, please, I'm begging you.:( I don't want to ruin my computer.

Tatty
May 1st, 2008, 04:50 AM
Firstly, if you want to re-install grub then do this https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RecoveringUbuntuAfterInstallingWindows

If you want to remove ubuntu then:

1. Boot into a live cd
2. System->Administration->Partition Editor
3. Delete all of your linux partitions.
4. Boot into your windows XP cd
5. Select restoration console
6. Select XP installation
7. type fixmbr
8. reboot into windows and defrag your hard drive 3 or 4 times
9. reboot into live CD and expand your NTFS partition to fill the drive

done!

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=245959

Edit: Are you sue your just havent hidden your Grub menu? it might appear if you pres Esc when its loading.

Shadius
May 2nd, 2008, 01:05 AM
Firstly, if you want to re-install grub then do this https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RecoveringUbuntuAfterInstallingWindows

If you want to remove ubuntu then:

1. Boot into a live cd
2. System->Administration->Partition Editor
3. Delete all of your linux partitions.
4. Boot into your windows XP cd
5. Select restoration console
6. Select XP installation
7. type fixmbr
8. reboot into windows and defrag your hard drive 3 or 4 times
9. reboot into live CD and expand your NTFS partition to fill the drive

done!

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=245959