PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] On board video and screen resolution

cign
May 1st, 2008, 03:09 AM
Hi everyone. I just started using Ubuntu a couple of weeks ago so I'm still learning the inns and outs. I have a question in regards to Ubuntu 8.04. Every time I log on the screen resolution always seems to default to 1280x1024. I can change it back to 1024x768 but the next time I start up my computer the resolution defaults back to 1280x1024. I don't recall having this issue with 7.10. The video card is on board so I'm not sure what to do or how to load any drivers for it. Appreciate any help or suggestions.

Thanks,

Chris

gnuskool
May 2nd, 2008, 12:37 AM
Give specific info for a quicker answer, Chris, like

- the name of the graphics card, manufacturer
- laptop or desktop

stuff like that, just so it's narrowed down and also, people with the same cards can find it by searching those names

cign
May 3rd, 2008, 12:43 AM
I have no idea what the video card would be. I'm assuming it's an intel brand. All I can tell you is that I'm running Ubuntu 8.04 on an older Compaq Evo. It's a pentium 4 1.8GH. Hope this helps a bit. Will the BIOS tell you the type of videocard? Since it's an on board video card is there anything on the motherboard indicating the video card. My other option which I was debating is to buy an older ATI or NVIDIA card. If I decide to go with another video card which one plays better with UBUNTU?

Thanks,

Chris

Zorael
May 3rd, 2008, 10:51 AM
If you decide to go with a new card, pick Nvidia for linux use; ATI drivers may be up-and-coming, but for the time being, Nvidia drivers are superior.

As for screen resolution, X (the graphical environment) auto-detects available resolutions and automatically picks the highest one. If you provide the contents of your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file we should be make slight alterations to limit the maximum to 1024x768.

In 7.10 it relied more on defined settings (in mentioned file) rather than auto-detection.

cign