PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Learning Ubuntu by Vmware first, then dual boot?

Chuck251
May 1st, 2008, 12:52 AM
I am new to Linux/Ubuntu, and want to play around with it in VMware on XP first, before switching to it fully or dual booting into it.

I am building a new system with a single 640GB Sata drive. If while setting up XP I leave, say 60GB free as an unused partition, and later on want to move the Ubuntu system I've been running in VMware to this partion so I can now boot into it, how hard (or reliable) is this?

Thanks!

wheels.
May 1st, 2008, 01:02 AM
why not just start with the dual boot configuration? Then you get a full feel of how it would work, and you get full performance as well! As for moving the vmware system to a partition and booting it, I think its just going to create a lot more work than you would have had had you just started off by dual booting, I am not sure if it is even possible.

just my $0.02

Tatty
May 1st, 2008, 01:04 AM
I dont think that would really work.

I have not tried doing what you are suggesting so someone may come and say it is possible, but im pretty sure that you would have to do a clean install in your new partition.

If you are planning to leave some space to install ubuntu into anyway then why not just install it straight off? Running it in VMware is not as much fun as running it on its own, you will struggle with things like installing the proprietry graphics drivers etc.

iSplicer
May 1st, 2008, 01:05 AM
Running in VMWare is a bad option, and there is no way to "copy" your virtual machine into a spare partition (there may be on second thought but its a bit pointless.)

I suggest dual booting now

Zralou
May 1st, 2008, 01:08 AM
Why not just use the 'liveCD' to see how you like it, then install it to its own partition?.

Sara Lou

abhiroopb
May 1st, 2008, 01:10 AM