PDA

View Full Version : Algorithmic Optimizations

Thorjelly
May 1st, 2008, 12:37 AM
I am writing a diametric tile engine in C++ using the SDL library. I am pretty new at C++, having migrated from higher level languages like Python, and am still trying to figure out the nooks and crannies. Specifically, I am starting to optimize my drawing routine a bit (despite probably having better things to do, like actually adding more features hehe). Well anyway, here is my old DrawScene() function:

void DrawScene() {
SDL_FillRect(screen, NULL, SDL_MapRGB(screen->format,0,0,0));

// center the level on the screen

int pw = SCREEN_WIDTH / 2 - (TILE_WIDTH + TILE_X_OFF) / 2 -
(MyLevel.Width() * TILE_WIDTH - MyLevel.Depth() * TILE_X_OFF) / 2;
int ph = SCREEN_HEIGHT / 2 - (TILE_HEIGHT + TILE_Y_OFF) / 2 -
(MyLevel.Width() * TILE_Y_OFF - MyLevel.Height() * TILE_HEIGHT +
MyLevel.Depth() * TILE_X_OFF) / 2;

// draw the level

for (int z=0;z<MyLevel.Depth();z++) {
for (int x=0;x<MyLevel.Width();x++) {
for (int y=0;y<MyLevel.Height();y++) {
if (MyLevel.Tile(x,y,z) > 0) {
int xb = x * TILE_WIDTH - z * TILE_X_OFF;
int yb = z * TILE_X_OFF + x * TILE_Y_OFF - y * TILE_HEIGHT;
int id = MyLevel.Tile(x,y,z);
DrawIMG(MySet.Image(), xb+pw, yb+ph, MySet.Tile(id).ImageClip());
}
}
}
}
SDL_Flip(screen);
}

Versus a new one, which for now rewrites the bits before the loops (yes, I know, probably not the main bottleneck of the function):

void DrawScene() {
SDL_FillRect(screen, NULL, SDL_MapRGB(screen->format,0,0,0));

// center the level on the screen

int pw = (SCREEN_WIDTH - TILE_WIDTH - TILE_X_OFF -
MyLevel.Width() * TILE_WIDTH + MyLevel.Depth() * TILE_X_OFF) >> 1;
int ph = (SCREEN_HEIGHT - TILE_HEIGHT - TILE_Y_OFF -
MyLevel.Width() * TILE_Y_OFF + MyLevel.Height() * TILE_HEIGHT -
MyLevel.Depth() * TILE_X_OFF) >> 1;

// draw the level

for (int z=0;z<MyLevel.Depth();z++) {
for (int x=0;x<MyLevel.Width();x++) {
for (int y=0;y<MyLevel.Height();y++) {
if (MyLevel.Tile(x,y,z) > 0) {