PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Home Server HowTo

mbt12
April 30th, 2008, 11:34 PM
Hi, I am pretty new to this but I am going to try to make a home server. I don't know if this is possible, but I want to be able to store music, movies etc. on it and be able to use them on my normal computer. Is this possible and how hard would it be?

Dr Small
May 1st, 2008, 03:01 AM
It would not be that difficult.
First you will need a dedicated box that will be the server. Once you have that, you can install Ubuntu Server Edition or Ubuntu CLI Edition (basically a CLI install) and then install things as you need to from there.

For a Filestorage, here are the basics you will need:

OpenSSH-Server -- This will be what you use to administer the box. You must know the command line.

Apache -- This will host your files and make them accessible via a browser over your network. You can install Apache from the repositories, or my personal choice of Xampp.

FTP -- Although insecure, if you simply plan to use it on your network and not have it accessible from the outside, you should be fine. ProFTPd works great in my opinion.

Of course, others will also tell you that you could simply install a desktop and make it into a server, but that is the long way around things, yet easier if you are not familiar with the command line.

Good Luck,
If you have any more questions, feel free to ask.

Dr Small

_sAm_
May 1st, 2008, 12:01 PM
mbt12: whats OS is on your "normal pc". Do gonna use the share from the server on only your LAN, or also via Interntt?

Jeztastic
May 1st, 2008, 12:09 PM
I have set up a home server following this guide:

Build Your Own Server 1 (http://www.bit-tech.net/bits/2007/06/05/build_your_own_server/1)

and

Build Your Own Server 2 (http://www.bit-tech.net/bits/2007/07/24/build_your_own_better_server/1)