PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] A few issues with fresh Hardy install

sparky_hall
April 30th, 2008, 04:21 PM
Hi All,

I'm new to linux and I have been using Gutsy without any issues for about four weeks now so I'm still going up a very steep learning curve. Anyhow I've been trying Ubuntu Hardy but I've been having a few issues and I'm not really sure where they should be posted/reported so I thought I try here until told otherwise. I run my system as a multi boot system so Hardy was a fresh install on a clean partition.

Hardy install went OK but I use a CRT monitor and wanted to use a different resolution screen than default, this is when things started going wrong. Gutsy can detect my monitor but Hardy cannot, not a problem thought I as this can be manually set using the screens and graphics app once I'd found were it had been moved to. I set the resolution how I like it and all seemed OK. Then I went about setting up an account for my wife with a different screen resolution but found the option she likes to use (1280x960_75Hz) was not there. I also noticed that the next time I booted the log on screen was different as if it was trying to be displayed over a much larger screen. To cut a long story short I managed to sort both of these issues out by manually editing /etc/x11/xorg.conf and the /home/myname/.gnome2/monitor.xml files for both accounts. To stop the log on screen from being oversized I had to reduce the virtual screen size to the native screen size in xorg.conf, you don't need to do this on Gutsy by the way.

The next issue is with Firefox 3. My wife does the weekly shop online at Tesco but when you log on to Tesco to do the shop some of the links confuse Firefox such that it opens the save dialogue rather than following the link, this seems to be somewhat erratic as sometimes it will follow the link correctly. This does not happen with Firefox 2 or IE6. I have no solution for this other than installing Firefox 2.