PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] My first server...

Kaptain_Xabriel
April 30th, 2008, 05:19 AM
Hi everyone.

I've put together some old computer parts, and bought a new hard drive, and I want to make a server.

Problem is, I barely know where to begin.

Let me explain what I want to do:
1. I want to use it as a network drive on my home network
2. I would like to set up a web page that I, or my friends can access over the internet from any computer.
3. I would also like to use it to download and seed torrents.

For the web page, I want to have a username/password login that is quite secure. ie; 3 failed logins = permanent IP ban (unless I remove it) And for the web page interface, all I really need is maybe a couple text-based pages, then a directory system where I can access my files.

I would like to know what distro I should use, what programs I should use, and most importantly: HOW.

I am still relatively new to linux, so I will probably need a lot of guidance :)

Thanks in advance!

natrixgli
April 30th, 2008, 05:45 AM
Hi,

All the things you've mentioned are pretty easy to do. A few suggestions though:

1) For home use, I created my first server on a virtual machine using VMWare Server. That way I could practice with minimal investment. You can probably do the same with Virtualbox, Qemu, etc.

2) Some ISP's have rules and/or measures in place to prevent home users from running servers. I would check with your provider.

3) There are lots of howto's, etc for building servers, I would recommend searching google, and the forums for the "perfect ubuntu server" guides, etc. A lot of the info you need will be easier to get in a prepared howto. Also many of the things you want to do will not always be easy with GUI (graphical) tools, so it's handy to know some command line, and how to use nano or vi to edit configuration files. (don't worry, they're all very well documented!)

Some programs for you to check out would be: