PDA

View Full Version : Can your system go into suspend mode and wake up?



Adam Lee
October 17th, 2005, 03:43 AM
Hello there : ) I've been using linux for a couple of months now and I've tried a few of wellknown distros.

Some are better than the others but all of them have failed to put my system in to suspend mode.

I have an ATI card and whenever I get my 3d working, the system would not wake up from or go into suspend.

So I was wondering if any one of you successfully configured your system.

Suspend mode is something I really need but unfortunately my only solution for now is sticking with Windows XP.

John.Michael.Kane
October 17th, 2005, 10:19 PM
Since you list no system spec's or which version of Ubuntu your using, i can only answer with a link on fix'es https://wiki.ubuntu.com/?action=fullsearch&context=180&value=suspend&titlesearch=Titles

somuchfortheafter
October 17th, 2005, 10:25 PM
it can get suspended but waking it up is a bitch

woodb
October 18th, 2005, 04:01 AM
I had to change my /etc/acpi/lid.sh script to include "echo mem > /sys/power/state" for it to work. It now looks something like:

>snip<
grep -q closed /proc/acpi/button/lid/*/state
if [ $? = 0 ]
then
for x in /tmp/.X11-unix/*; do
displaynum=`echo $x | sed s#/tmp/.X11-unix/X##`
getXuser;
if [ x"$XAUTHORITY" != x"" ]; then
export DISPLAY=":$displaynum"
. /usr/share/acpi-support/screenblank
fi
done
echo mem > /sys/power/state
else
for x in /tmp/.X11-unix/*; do
>snip<

Obviously you need to restart acpi for this to be read (sudo /etc/init.d/acpid restart).

Your milage may vary.