PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How do i repartition my hard drive partition to small

Peterfc
April 29th, 2008, 10:41 PM
A total newbie to Ubuntu. Just done a clean install of Hardy 8.04. I have my partition set too small can anybody help please.

Six_Digits
April 29th, 2008, 10:43 PM
Set to small?
You mean set too small?

gparted my friend.
Do some searching too:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=770495&highlight=gparted
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=771028&highlight=gparted

You'll have to do it from the LiveCD if you're currently running on the partition you wish to edit.

Lord Landis
April 29th, 2008, 10:58 PM
A total newbie to Ubuntu. Just done a clean install of Hardy 8.04. I have my partition set too small can anybody help please.

How do you have them set up?

Yes, you'll need to use the gparted liveCD to re-size them (unless you want to do a complete re-install), but it's really quite easy to use.

Just make sure that you make a full backup of anything you've put on there that you need to keep, just in case. I've used gparted on production servers, and it's worked without a hitch, so you should be fairly safe.

Shadius
April 29th, 2008, 11:58 PM
How do you have them set up?

Yes, you'll need to use the gparted liveCD to re-size them (unless you want to do a complete re-install), but it's really quite easy to use.

Just make sure that you make a full backup of anything you've put on there that you need to keep, just in case. I've used gparted on production servers, and it's worked without a hitch, so you should be fairly safe.
How do you do a complete reinstall of Ubuntu on Dual booting computer? Also, how do I remove the partition Ubuntu's on and give it back to Windows? How can I view the partition that Ubuntu is on?

Posterus
April 30th, 2008, 12:06 AM