PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] serious sudo problem

dave103
April 29th, 2008, 03:24 PM
I'm a new linux user but I installed Ubuntu 8.04 server which went very easily as did installation of phpmyadmin but now have run into serious trouble with permissions because of the root user issue. Not sure what I did but now when I use sudo it comes back with "dave is not in the sudoers file. This incident will be reported" (a bit harsh!). It may have been because in trying to upload some MySQL files from my PC I thought I would add myself to the mysql group which I thought I did, but I still didn't get access to the mysql folder and probably screwed up my "sudoer's" status in the process.

Can someone help me here - is there any way (short of re-installation) I can recover?

Dave

PS I've been a windows programmer for some years and am very happy with linux except for two things - (1) I can't understand the logic of the file system and I can never find anything because files seem to be sprinkled around everywhere in var, etc, usr, bin, sbin, lib and so on and so on and each location depends on the particular version or flavour of the installation (2) permissions can cause difficulty as in this case. I mention this because what I was trying to do was amend the apache configuration which first required me to find it and then I ran into the permission problem. I tried to change owner but I assumed I needed first to stop apache which is when I realised I was locked out.

adamitj
April 29th, 2008, 03:48 PM
Hello dave!

Maybe your user "dave" was removed from /etc/sudoers file. This file controls who (users and/or groups) can execute commands as root.

First of all, you will need access with some user wich one have rights as root (that means, user inside /etc/sudoers, or log in with root itself). Then you have to execute these commands:

*** NOTICE: Execute this step only if you have logged in with a different user than root, wich one have rights on sudo ***

sudo su