PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing 7.10 on my desktop pc

matthewhunt
April 29th, 2008, 01:04 PM
I've tried and so far failed to get 8.04 to run on my desktop pc, I keep getting dropped to the busybox so i'll leave that version alone for now and perhaps upgrade from inside 7.10. I have got 7.10 running from the live CD on my desktop pc, but the keyboard doesn't work. It runs ok in Win XP, and works outside of the desktop environment, but as soon as the desktop appears the keyboard is dead.

My other issue is with installation. My second IDE drive is already partitioned and i have a partition which i have cleared for linux use. Do I need to delete the partition and reformat it? and what is the native file format for linux. I guess it isn't fat32?

I feel like a complete noob with this, well in linux terms i am but i look forward to moving away from microsoft. I just don't like vista and it's DRM implications, and xp swallows up my computers resources in no time at all.

Kevbert
April 29th, 2008, 01:30 PM
I suggest you do a hunt for your keyboard type on the forums. Is it wireless ?
Regarding installing Ubuntu, you could perform a guided install on the empty partition when running the CD. This will set up the formatting/any additional partitioning.
For a manual install (instead of guided) I suggest you allocate around 10Gb for system files and at least twice the amount of RAM you have to the swap file (say 2Gb). The partition format for system files is ext3. The swap file is used for system crashes (if any ever occur).

matthewhunt
April 29th, 2008, 03:15 PM
My keyboard is simply a normal ps/2 keyboard. No fancy shortcut buttons, a packard bell badged unit circa 1995ish. Still works so i'm happy. I'm using a wireless USB mouse at the same time so not sure if having the two different types is causing a problem. I might borrow a USB keyboard (or ps2 mouse) to see if that solves the issue.