PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] undefined reference to 'pow'

jon zendatta
April 29th, 2008, 04:13 AM
hell0 people

doing some simple C..but some problems with the math functions even though i am using the math header -- #include <stdio.h>
#include <math.h>
problem being it will not compile! :KS
ps:sorry i probably should be posting this in the absolute beginner's forum

LaRoza
April 29th, 2008, 04:16 AM
hell0 people

doing some simple C..but some problems with the math functions even though i am using the math header -- #include <stdio.h>
#include <math.h>
problem being it will not compile! :KS
ps:sorry i probably should be posting this in the absolute beginner's forum

Add this:

gcc -lm

And whatever else you use, just make sure to have -lm.

jon zendatta
April 29th, 2008, 04:23 AM
cheers
so is this how i compile?

gcc -lm file file.c

dwhitney67
April 29th, 2008, 05:02 AM
You should read the man-pages!

$ man gcc
$ man pow

To compile:

$ gcc -o myFile myFile.c -lm

Don't name your executable 'file', because a binary with that name already exists in /usr/bin.

(The -lm does not have to be at the end; that's just my preference.)

jon zendatta
April 29th, 2008, 05:17 AM
thank you lar0za/dwhitney67
that works good, linux rules:KS

roho@Lenovo
November 15th, 2011, 04:09 AM
-lm being at the end or at the start makes a diference to the linker. Don't know why

gavin_attoe
November 15th, 2011, 05:45 AM
(The -lm does not have to be at the end; that's just my preference.)

Well it looks like this is pretty well all solved. I just thought I'd add my preferred placement of -lm as the innards of a sandwich of file names.

$ cc myFile.c -lm -o myFile.out

Yummy.

schauerlich
November 15th, 2011, 04:38 PM
-lm being at the end or at the start makes a diference to the linker. Don't know why

I don't believe it should. Most likely, placing it at the beginning or end is inadvertently interfering with another flag.

disregard that, i'm wrong.

MadCow108