PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installed 8.04 without a hitch - now Windows XP does not boot. Help?

pitscar
April 29th, 2008, 12:40 AM
Hey guys,

Please help me troubleshoot. I'm new to ubuntu and was able to install 8.04 without any hassles or troubles at all. However, at the grub dual boot loader, trying to launch Windows XP now does next to nothing - once selected, "Starting up......" appears, with no activity and the PC just sits there.

Any help getting windows working again would be great!

Here's the sudo fdisk -l:

Disk /dev/sda: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xf235746a

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 18987 152513046 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2 18988 24321 42845355 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 18988 24097 41046043+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda6 24098 24321 1799248+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris

pitscar
April 29th, 2008, 03:03 AM
I'm really finding this strange!

Here's what I get from gksudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst:

"# menu.lst - See: grub(8), info grub, update-grub(8)
# grub-install(8), grub-floppy(8),
# grub-md5-crypt, /usr/share/doc/grub
# and /usr/share/doc/grub-doc/.

## default num
# Set the default entry to the entry number NUM. Numbering starts from 0, and
# the entry number 0 is the default if the command is not used.
#
# You can specify 'saved' instead of a number. In this case, the default entry
# is the entry saved with the command 'savedefault'.
# WARNING: If you are using dmraid do not use 'savedefault' or your
# array will desync and will not let you boot your system.
default 0

## timeout sec
# Set a timeout, in SEC seconds, before automatically booting the default entry
# (normally the first entry defined).
timeout 10

## hiddenmenu
# Hides the menu by default (press ESC to see the menu)
#hiddenmenu

# Pretty colours
#color cyan/blue white/blue

## password ['--md5'] passwd