PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Question about clustering, suggestions wanted!

squirrley5
April 28th, 2008, 09:42 PM
Hi all,
I've looked around and haven't seen this kind of question asked anywhere, unfortunately. Let me preface this all by saying that I'm relatively new to linux/debian; I have been using it off and on (mostly off) since 1999, but infrequently enough that I often forget commands. I have done some installations from source, but much prefer apt-get install. :)

Now, on to the question. I recently inherited the server administration and network engineering for a company when their previous guru left. I've worked a lot with LAMP before, but never email. I'm quite out of my element. All I know for sure is that if things remain the way they are, they'll go down in a hurry, and I'll be blamed. Let me back up a tad.

I work with a moderately-sized Wireless ISP in Illinois and Indiana, a couple hours south of Chicago. We have about 1000 customers. There are two networks: the Indiana network operating on 3xT1 connections, and the Illinois networking operating on a 10Mbps partial fiber link bounced to our first tower wirelessly by our ISP. Currently, our single email server is sitting next to the T1 router over in Indiana, not benefiting from all the bandwidth we have here in IL. Of course, I keep getting told that in "a few weeks" the field technician will connect the two networks, and we'll be able to use our internal backhaul (which runs fairly consistenly about 8Mbps - 10Mbps from any location to any other) for all inter-server communication.