PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Panels gone

isomorph
April 28th, 2008, 01:02 PM
Hi All,

I am an absolute noob. Just installed my first Ubuntu ever yesterday.

So today I started my laptop and the panels ( I think they are called panels, the bars on top and on the bottom of the desktop) were gone.

I only get the background image and the mouse is there too.

How do I get the panels back.

Please give me a stpe by step advise like you would give your grandma:)

Cheers iso

ryanhaigh
April 28th, 2008, 02:18 PM
press alt-f2 to bring up the run application dialog, then enter gnome-panel and hit enter.

isomorph
April 28th, 2008, 03:29 PM
No reaction when I press Alt+F2

cheers

Iso

anuban
April 29th, 2008, 12:35 AM
Same here...
Nothing happend with Alt+F2.
Someone please help...

anuban
April 29th, 2008, 03:39 AM
Got the trick:

Press CTRL+ALT+F2
Login and password
sudo apt-get remove gnome-panel
sudo apt-get install gnome-panel
sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop.
Restart...

everything should be fine.:)

Thanks for the help guys...

isomorph
April 29th, 2008, 04:11 AM
I tried ctr alt F2 before.

But install the gnome did not really work.

So I decided this morning I install the whole system freshly.

No harm because I just started testing it so no data loss.

Thank you all anyway.

cheers

Iso

lenn-art
April 29th, 2008, 12:43 PM
I tried ctr alt F2 before.

But install the gnome did not really work.

So I decided this morning I install the whole system freshly.

No harm because I just started testing it so no data loss.

Thank you all anyway.

cheers

Iso
Did you remove Evolution?

isomorph
April 29th, 2008, 03:43 PM
hey lenn-art,

Exactly that was the problem I found it out today.

I removed Evolution and then I saw that it will also remove gnome-panel.

Is there anyway to remove evolution (I use thunderbird) and only evolution?

cheers iso

taugust04
May 9th, 2008, 03:25 AM
hey lenn-art,

Exactly that was the problem I found it out today.