PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] can't do anything after installation

mutte
April 27th, 2008, 11:47 AM
Hi there,

With the release of ubuntu 8.04 I thought this was a new opportunity to get rid of Windows on my Dell Optiplex 320 but it's not going that well.This means I'm quite new to Ubuntu.

So I put my on board ati radeon xpress 200 as default in the BIOS.
Because from earlier Ubuntu installation attempts I knew that there was going to be a conflict with my ati X1300.

So now I'm using the on board one and I'll try to get the x1300 working when this problem is solved(or has it still something to do whit it ?)

With the on board ati, I could boot the Livecd (without having to go in "save graphics mode"), from there I installed ubuntu on my HD (I kept one ntfs partition with music and movies).

The installation seemed to finish without any problems, but when I reboot, I see right after the Grub boot loader, a blinking cursor, and in the middle of my screen an "F" character and a little green rectangle the computer doesn't respond to anything.

When I go into recovery mode I get the same symptoms and the memtest isn't working either.

I tried the alternative cd as well, but the very same thing happened.

I've been googling for 2 days now but I can't find a solution to my problem.

Can anyone give me some pointers on this ?

Maarten

mutte
April 27th, 2008, 08:39 PM
a little update: removing quiet and splash and adding noacpi acpi=off in grub doesn't help, still getting a blinking cursor, an F character and 2 little green rectangles in the middle

I have absolutely no clue :confused:

zgoda
April 28th, 2008, 02:56 PM
I have to upgrade my Optiplex 320 box at work, currently running Ubuntu 7.04 (7.10 refuses to boot kernel). My plan is to install from LiveCD, then try one of 2 scenarios, which worked for me before: either install GRUB2 or LILO as bootloader.