PDA

View Full Version : career with ubuntu/canonical

technomaniac
April 27th, 2008, 07:02 AM
Hello everyone,

I am a undergrad student of Computer Science at NIT-Surat, one of the most reputed engineering colleges in India. I have been using Ubuntu for more than 2 years now. I love the OS and I would like to work towards making GNU/Linux the defacto desktop OS.

I dunno where to post this thread so I am just doing it here. I like the work that Ubuntu is doing, bringing GNU/Linux to the desktop. While companies like Redhat have given up, Ubuntu is still going strong. Next year my placement season will start and there will be all sorts of IT companies coming including biggies like Microsoft, Google, Texas Instruments, and other Indian MNCs. And being one of the best programmers of my year (albeit with a low CGPA) I will get a good package. But I like the work being done at Ubuntu and I would love to work for it.

So I would like to know how a career is at Canonical/Ubuntu? Do they hire freshers?

Yes, I know I can definitely contribute to Ubuntu without being part of the company. But getting to do what you like and getting paid for it is a much more rewarding experience. Frankly, I am not the least interested in developing Java based 'e-CRM','banking solutions' and such other stupid stuff that most of my friends will do, whatever may be the salary. Yes, both Google and Microsoft do very innovative stuff. But my love is GNU/Linux. I want to work on an OS and bring it to the people. And Ubuntu is closest to that.

Regards,
Sandip Dev

technomaniac
April 27th, 2008, 07:13 AM
And one more thing. Right now my college runs Redhat enterprise linux 3 on all its PCs. I have convinced the administration to install Ubuntu on all of them. I and a few other friends of mine will be doing it. We will first try all versions of Ubuntu from 6.06 to 8.04 on a single PC. And then we will install whichever is the most suitable and compatible.