PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu performance



Roman10
April 26th, 2008, 07:26 PM
Hi people,

after many years who I take only Microsoft's software (from dos to Vista) I decide to try the alternatives to this OS.

I have downloaded Ubuntu and I see that is very nice OS and I began to see all the functions with curiosity and a with a certain kind of enthusiasm. But when I start some functions all together like Mozilla, Messanger and Audio player (how I do before in the Microsoft OS) the system go too slowly and sometimes itself close mozzilla and play very badly the songs.

I think too that I don't have a bad hardware system... I have do a report with a benchmarking software and I do see to you

See Here (http://gr.rossoalice.alice.it/fmc/antefrm.php?filename=/PUBLIC/hardinfo_report.html.)

I have a bad hware system? Or I have do something wrong to configure my Ubuntu? (indeed I don't have touch nothing about configuration)

thanks to whoever would answer and excuse me for my English

Pumalite
April 26th, 2008, 07:29 PM
Non poso vedere. Excuse my Italian.

kellemes
April 26th, 2008, 07:45 PM
The link isn't working..
Your hardware-specs indeed may shine some light on things..

Roman10
April 26th, 2008, 08:05 PM
Non poso vedere. Excuse my Italian.


The link isn't working..
Your hardware-specs indeed may shine some light on things..

Thank you for your answer.

See Here (http://www.gigasize.com/get.php?d=t0ovkv8lv7b)

Pumalite
April 26th, 2008, 08:12 PM
Same thing. Just post your specs.

Roman10
April 26th, 2008, 08:38 PM
Same thing. Just post your specs.

Ok. (is the best thing)

Intel Pentium 4 - 2,8 Ghz
Ram - 1 Gb (I think ddr 300, but I don't remember in a sure way)
2 Hard disk
- Maxtor Sata 250 Gb (where is ubundu)
- Maxtor Ide 120 Gb
Graphic card nVidia 256 Mb (but like the ram, I'm not sure)

Thank for your patience

Roman10
April 26th, 2008, 08:43 PM
Same thing. Just post your specs.

Ok. (is the best thing)

Intel Pentium 4 - 2,8 Ghz
Ram - 1 Gb (I think ddr 300, but I don't remember in a sure way)
2 Hard disk
- Maxtor Sata 250 Gb (where is ubundu)
- Maxtor Ide 120 Gb
Graphic card nVidia 256 Mb (but like the ram, I'm not sure)

Thank for your patience

Pumalite
April 26th, 2008, 08:49 PM
Have you installed an Nvidia driver?

Roman10
April 26th, 2008, 08:56 PM
Have you installed an Nvidia driver?

Yes. Is the only thing who I have touched because I have read that Ubundu can't modify this driver and I must install the nVidia drivers.

Pumalite
April 26th, 2008, 09:16 PM
The only other thing that occurs to me is your mix of SATA and IDE. Where do you have your OS's?. Post:
sudo fdisk -l

Roman10
April 26th, 2008, 09:22 PM
The only other thing that occurs to me is your mix of SATA and IDE. Where do you have your OS's?

On Sata. If I put Vista on this hd, it works very well (but I can't activate it for a lot of reason)



. Post:
sudo fdisk -l

:shock:

What?

Thank you again for your patience

Pumalite
April 26th, 2008, 09:38 PM
Copy and paste the command in your Terminal and copy and paste the output in here.

Roman10
April 26th, 2008, 10:02 PM
Copy and paste the command in your Terminal and copy and paste the output in here.


http://img170.imageshack.us/img170/4407/screenshotiz0.png

Pumalite
April 26th, 2008, 10:28 PM
Mount the partrition:
sudo mkdir /media/sdb1
sudo mount -t ext3 /dev/sdb1 /media/sdb1
Post:
cat /media/sdb1/boot/grub/menu.lst

Roman10
April 26th, 2008, 10:32 PM
Mount the partrition:
sudo mkdir /media/sdb1
sudo mount -t ext3 /dev/sdb1 /media/sdb1
Post:
cat /media/sdb1/boot/grub/menu.lst

I gotta write all this things on terminal? (excuse me, but remember that I have used only Microsoft systems until now ).

Thanks

H4rm0ny
April 26th, 2008, 10:38 PM
Yes.

Enter:

sudo mkdir /media/sdb1

as the first line (it will probably ask you for your password). Then

sudo mount -t ext3 /dev/sdb1 /media/sdb1

And then post for us the output of the following command:

sudo mkdir /media/sdb1

Actually, if it looks like the second line threw an error, you could post the output of that one as well.

Pumalite
April 26th, 2008, 10:42 PM
The Terminal is the most powerful instrument in your Linux OS. Learn to use it. Tutorials:
http://www.ubuntugeek.com/tag/ubuntu-hacks/
http://www.unix-tutorials.com/go.php?id=861
http://www.linux-tutorial.info/index.php
http://www.linux.org/lessons/beginner/toc.html
http://howtoforge.com/taxonomy_menu/1/1/50
http://www.littleigloo.org/tutorial.php3
http://www.geekgirls.com/
http://www.ubuntugeek.com/

Roman10
April 26th, 2008, 10:46 PM
Yes.

Enter:

sudo mkdir /media/sdb1

as the first line (it will probably ask you for your password). Then

sudo mount -t ext3 /dev/sdb1 /media/sdb1

And then post for us the output of the following command:

sudo mkdir /media/sdb1

Actually, if it looks like the second line threw an error, you could post the output of that one as well.

Thank you Harmony for being involved in this discussion! I have do this steps. And now?


The Terminal is the most powerful instrument in your Linux OS. Learn to use it. Tutorials:
http://www.ubuntugeek.com/tag/ubuntu-hacks/
http://www.unix-tutorials.com/go.php?id=861
http://www.linux-tutorial.info/index.php
http://www.linux.org/lessons/beginner/toc.html
http://howtoforge.com/taxonomy_menu/1/1/50
http://www.littleigloo.org/tutorial.php3
http://www.geekgirls.com/
http://www.ubuntugeek.com/

Really thanks guys. In italian forum I cannot find all this kindness.

H4rm0ny
April 26th, 2008, 10:56 PM
Thank you Harmony for being involved in this discussion! I have do this steps. And now?

Oh crap! I'm really sorry - I posted the wrong line. After doing those first two commands, the last line should be:

cat /media/sdb1/boot/grub/menu.lst

This should display some information which we'd like you to copy and paste for us to see. It will tell us information about how your computer is booting.

Don't worry - you don't have to redo the first commands again. Just do the line above and give us the output. Sorry!

-Harmony.

EDIT: It will probably be quite a lot of information. Make sure you get it all. ;)

Roman10
April 26th, 2008, 11:09 PM
http://img293.imageshack.us/img293/8296/96137297wc0.png
http://img177.imageshack.us/img177/1049/37274365jz5.png
http://img177.imageshack.us/img177/2531/85293139qe3.png
http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/1162/34075807gl2.png

I think is all!

Pumalite
April 26th, 2008, 11:30 PM
Change this:
title Vista
rootnoverify (hd0,3)
map (hd0,0) (hd1,0)
map (hd1,0) (hd0,0)
savedefault
makeactive
chainloader +1

Roman10
April 26th, 2008, 11:35 PM
Change this:
title Vista
rootnoverify (hd0,3)
map (hd0,0) (hd1,0)
map (hd1,0) (hd0,0)
savedefault
makeactive
chainloader +1

I must apply this change ever in the terminal?

GTengineer
April 26th, 2008, 11:37 PM
Roman u can select, copy and paste text from the terminal without having to take and post screenshots. It will probably make your life easier in the future.

Pumalite
April 26th, 2008, 11:47 PM
Are you runing the installed Ubuntu or the Live CD now?

Roman10
April 26th, 2008, 11:56 PM
Roman u can select, copy and paste text from the terminal without having to take and post screenshots. It will probably make your life easier in the future.

It's true. It's a my custom with Windows because I had a very simply software..


Are you runing the installed Ubuntu or the Live CD now?

Excuse me... but I did not understand perfectly. Now is running Ubuntu. What is the Live CD?

H4rm0ny
April 26th, 2008, 11:59 PM
I must apply this change ever in the terminal?

The command "cat" that you just ran on the file "/media/sdb1/boot/grub/menu.lst" showed us the contents of that file. Pumalite wants you to change the file to contain what he posted. There are lots of ways to do this, but the easiest way for you is as follows:

Open the file "/media/sdb1/boot/grub/menu.lst" by typing the following in the terminal:



sudo ls
sudo gedit /media/sdb1/boot/grub/menu.lst &

(The sudo ls isn't needed for itself, but it ensures you have entered the password if it is needed, before you launch the next command - don't worry about this now).

A window should open displaying the file you just posted for us by using the cat command. You can edit this very easily. But be careful - this is an important file. It might be best to save a copy of it somewhere as well. Pumalite wants you to change the section near the end where it has a block starting "title Vista" so that it looks like what he has posted. But let us know if you're not sure what to change.

By the way, you don't have to post screenshots. You can actually copy the text from the terminal by highlighting the lines you want with the mouse and then selecting "Copy" from the Edit menu. Much neater. ;)

Hope this helps.

Roman10
April 27th, 2008, 12:05 AM
Really, really, really thanks guys.

Now I need to reboot system?

Roman10
April 27th, 2008, 09:44 AM
Really, really, really thanks guys.

Now I need to reboot system?

hello forum.

I have rebooted the system and nothing is change.

](*,)

ssam
April 27th, 2008, 10:24 AM
install the package

preload
with synaptic https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SynapticHowto

this speeds up program loading by preloading your most used programs into ram

diebels
April 27th, 2008, 10:30 AM
Hi Roman.
I think you where led a bit on the wrong track here.

I saw your hardware report, and part of it says:

OpenGL
Vendor Mesa project
Renderer Mesa GLX Indirect
Version 1.4 (2.1 Mesa 7.0.3-rc2)
Direct Rendering No

I think that is the cause of your performance problems.

Somehow the high performance drivers for the nvidia graphics card did not get installed correctly.

How did you install these drivers. Was it from the System -> Administration -> Hardware drivers menu?

Roman10
April 27th, 2008, 11:13 AM
install the package

preload
with synaptic https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SynapticHowto

this speeds up program loading by preloading your most used programs into ram

Excuse me. But I dont understand. Why I need to load applications on ram when my hware theoretically should go in a good way with Ubuntu?


Hi Roman.
I think you where led a bit on the wrong track here.

I saw your hardware report, and part of it says:

OpenGL
Vendor Mesa project
Renderer Mesa GLX Indirect
Version 1.4 (2.1 Mesa 7.0.3-rc2)
Direct Rendering No

I think that is the cause of your performance problems.

Somehow the high performance drivers for the nvidia graphics card did not get installed correctly.

How did you install these drivers. Was it from the System -> Administration -> Hardware drivers menu?

I think that I have updated drivers.


http://img373.imageshack.us/img373/8774/screenshotxz6.png

diebels
April 27th, 2008, 02:59 PM
I think that I have updated drivers.


http://img373.imageshack.us/img373/8774/screenshotxz6.png

Yes, looks like they are installed correctly. There could be a bug stopping them from getting loaded up on startup though.

There is a simple benchmarking program called glxgears. Just type glxgears into a terminal. If get a couple of thousand fps everything is working right.

Also "glxinfo | grep direct", should give a yes result. And "grep -i nvidia /var/log/Xorg.0.log" should give you a lot of info and no errors.

Roman10
April 27th, 2008, 03:42 PM
glxgears give me between 900/1100 Fps ever 5 second... is good?

Roman10
April 29th, 2008, 01:22 PM
Hi guys, I have formatted my hd and re-installed Ubuntu.

I have noticed one thing: my pc works in a good way with offline applications (Gimp, OpenOffice, Amarok,etc) because I tried to open a lot of applications to do this test (and the sys is fast), but I have problems when I start a web application (Mozilla, aMule, etc).

It may be the problem of the system performance?

I use an Usb wireless support and maybe the system need the original drivers.

Somebody can help me to search (and install especially) this kind of drivers?

(The support is a d'link G122 usb)

Thanks to all