PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] GRUB Hard Disk Error

kyebach
April 26th, 2008, 12:03 AM
Sorry if this question has already been answered in another post but I did search and didn't have any luck finding a solution to my specific problem.

So I'm new to ubuntu but did try the 7.10 liveCD and found that interesting so when 8.03 came out I thought I might as well install it and give it a go for a while. So I installed it on my MacBook which already had a bootcamp partition running windows XP and Leopard. My mistake was to install it to a USB flash drive which I now know isn't supported. So my problem now is I can't load Ubuntu off the usb key or boot up my Windows XP. Both of them give me the same error of "GRUB Hard Disk Error".

All I want now is to be able to boot Windows XP again without having to reinstall it. Is there a way I can completely uninstall ubuntu and or grub?

If and when hopefully I can get my windows booting again what is the best way to install ubuntu on a bootcamp partitioned mac. Is there a good tripple boot setup? Unfortunately it doesn't look like installing onto an external drive is an option right now.

Thanks in advance.

cyberdork33
April 26th, 2008, 01:16 AM
boot OSX, install refit, and reboot into the refit menu and select the partition tool sync the partition tables. then you should be able to boot windows. This will happen again when you install Hardy in the future.

kyebach
April 26th, 2008, 01:29 AM
Wonderful. Thanks for the tip, I'll try that and post if it worked for me.

Thanks!

billbear
April 26th, 2008, 06:18 AM
Because you installed grub to the MBR of your internal disk, and grub points to the external drive that may not be bootable, you got this GRUB Hard Disk Error.
Now you need to boot from XP install cd and repair the master boot record by using the FIXMBR command from the Windows XP Recovery Console. This will erase grub and you will be able to dual boot.