PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Cannot log in after upgrade to Hardy

cscj01
April 25th, 2008, 05:13 PM
After surviving the laborious on-line upgrade process from Gutsy to Hardy, I can no longer Log In to Hardy. When I try, I get an invalid password message. I booted in Safe mode and deleted the password for my account. Same Problem. I booted in Safe mode and added a password for my account. Same problem.

While I am not a computer novice, I am a Ubuntu/Linux user with only a small amount of experience.

I have a dual boot XP/Ubuntu system and have been using Gutsy for about four months. Most of the time spent in Ubuntu was working to get applications working correctly.

After the upgrade yesterday, I noticed two problems:

(1) I could not get Synaptic to connect to a site to upgrade/install any software;

(2) I did not have permissions I had had with Gutsy.

The only thing I did to address these was to add my User ID to the Root Group. This gave me the permissions I needed to accomplish some task (I cannot recall the task at the moment; I am still trying to recover from my ordeal of yesterday). I do not have any idea whether this action could cause me to not be able to Log In to Hardy.

Does anyone have any suggestions of what I might try next? Thanks for any help you can offer.

[Added] Additionally, I have found the following: I had auto-login enabled with Gutsy, so every time I reboot, I get a message saying my session lasted less than 10 seconds. Then it goes to the login prompt where I cannot login due to invalid user and/or password.

The details of the message say permission is denied for libXmuu.so.1, libX11.so.6, and libcrypto.so.9.8 to be opened or loaded. Should I use chmod on these libraries, and if so, what settings should they have?

cscj01
April 27th, 2008, 01:35 AM