PDA

View Full Version : Opinions of Wubi

Paqman
April 25th, 2008, 05:04 PM
So Wubi is an official method of installing Ubuntu now. I like to hang out in the Absolute Beginner forum and help newbies, so I thought I should educate myself and give it a try-out.

I have to say, i'm seriously impressed. This dramatically lowers the installation hurdle for new users. I think we should push this option hard for first-timers.

Some facts you might not know about Wubi:

- It won't touch Grub, so if you want to try it on an existing dual-boot it's no-hassle. I attaches itself to NTLDR instead.
- Running Wubi off a LiveCD will fully install Hardy in only a few minutes
- The online installer is a 1.1MB download that when run will pull down and install the correct image
- It unistalls cleanly from the Windows Add/Remove tool

GammaPoint
April 25th, 2008, 05:28 PM
I think it's a good idea. I plan to see if my brother wants to try it.

cookieofdoom
April 25th, 2008, 05:35 PM
It's very nice. The only problem is that it relies on the Windows MBR, which means it will probably never be stable. I had a friend who's Windows install broke because of WUBI. He was able to get it all sorted out with a restore disk, though.

Paqman
April 25th, 2008, 07:47 PM
I had a friend who's Windows install broke because of WUBI.

That's the big risk, I guess. The problem is that a lot of the folks who're electing to use Wubi might not be able to fix that if it breaks. We don't want to get a reputation for breaking people's Windows installs. Maybe Wubi should have a warning pop up reminding people to back up. That way, if they end up borking their system they've got no one to blame! ;)

Anduu
April 26th, 2008, 12:00 AM
I bought my first laptop a few weeks ago.I wasn't sure how the hardware would work under Hardy so I took the lazy way out and installed from Vista with Wubi.Everything works well.

It works so well I don't know if I'll even bother switching to a dedicated install.