PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Headphone jack not working

sammydlm
April 25th, 2008, 12:30 PM
Hello all. I tried this once before with no success, but I would like to try once more. I have an Everex NC1502 laptop with a Via processor with integrated audio. Ever since I installed Ubuntu 7.10 on it, I have not gotten any audio from my headphone jack. Yesterday I upgraded to 8.04 hoping that it would fix the headphone jack problem, but it is still the same. Audio through the internal speaker works fine and when I plug headphones in, the audio through the speaker stops, but nothing is heard through the headphones. When I unplug the headphones, the audio returns to the speaker. My headphone jack works just fine in Windows. I like Ubuntu very much, but not having the headphone jack for VOIP and listening to music in public places is a problem for me. Can anyone help? I am very new to Linux, so please try to dumb things down for me and be as specific as possible. Thanks in advance.

LaRoza
April 25th, 2008, 12:36 PM
Hello all. I tried this once before with no success, but I would like to try once more. I have an Everex NC1502 laptop with a Via processor with integrated audio. Ever since I installed Ubuntu 7.10 on it, I have not gotten any audio from my headphone jack. Yesterday I upgraded to 8.04 hoping that it would fix the headphone jack problem, but it is still the same. Audio through the internal speaker works fine and when I plug headphones in, the audio through the speaker stops, but nothing is heard through the headphones. When I unplug the headphones, the audio returns to the speaker. My headphone jack works just fine in Windows. I like Ubuntu very much, but not having the headphone jack for VOIP and listening to music in public places is a problem for me. Can anyone help? I am very new to Linux, so please try to dumb things down for me and be as specific as possible. Thanks in advance.

Get asoundconf-gtk and run it, and see if that helps.