PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Hardy Heron SO SLOW can't use computer... Having to write this in Lynx!

Miikee
April 25th, 2008, 10:03 AM
Please help me. I just got done installing Hardy Heron... It crashed at the very end of the installation and I had to hard reboot my computer.
It ended the installation process, but never made it to the clean up process, or the reboot step.
Now it has restarted and it is so slow that I can't even open applications in the GUI.
About the only thing I can do is switch to another TTY. Which is where I am right now, typing through lynx.
I am a beginner in Linux only have had it for a few months. Therefore, you may need to spell somethings out for me.
I try to use terminal as mush as possible so, i know most navigation commands and basic file manipulation commands.
Please help me with this probably it's really disappointing... I need to work on this computer for school.
I have a test tomorrow and need to be getting to sleep, so I may not respond to posts tonight.
Sorry about how this may look through your browser. I'm typing how it looks best in Lynx.
PLEASE HELP. 7.10 ran fine, so i figure I should have the requirements for 8.04 although I don't know them off the top of my head.

gtdaqua
April 25th, 2008, 10:06 AM
Dont panic. What was the error message you saw? Can you simply try reinstalling it?

If it doesn't work, simply install Gutsy again and download the alternate CD for 8.04 and do an upgrade.

gtdaqua
April 25th, 2008, 10:07 AM
It crashed at the very end of the installation and I had to hard reboot my computer.

At what point did this happen?

Miikee
April 25th, 2008, 10:11 AM
Also I only have a very limited amount of space left on my Linux partition.
What I think has happened is that I don't have any space left on it since the clean up process never happened.
7.10 once slowed way down (not as slow as it is right now) when I used up the last amount of space accidently.