PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] missing taskbar

ressaw
April 25th, 2008, 09:20 AM
Hi, I'm a total noob at using linux and after a successful installation of Ubuntu, I installed VLC packages and to free resources I uninstalled Totem.

The thing is that suddenly my taskbar (the upper bar and the one from below too) disappeared and I can't make them appear again, even if I restart the system it's still missing.

In any case, to some extent the computer is usable, the icons that I had on my desktop allow me to access some programs and some of my files, but that's it, does anyone know how can I fix this?

PS> if it involves using the command lines, please explain easily cause I'm very new at using it :P thanks!

gjwolfswinkel
May 4th, 2008, 09:59 PM
same problem here, also after installing stuff. No solution yet.

TheMemphisExperience
May 5th, 2008, 04:38 AM
I was trying to find a way to create new panels, but no joy.

However, you might have some luck if you create a new user account.

Hit alt+F2 to open a magic run application dialogue. Input users-admin and hit run. You can create a new user to login to with this. Ideally, they will have panels. If so, migrate your files into this new directory or leave them in your other user profile. If you leave them there, you can cripple the second profile so it is only usable as a storage area.

Alternatively, a clean install after salvaging your data should clear up the problem.

juje
May 5th, 2008, 09:16 PM