PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] cannot play mp3's

bakersfield90
April 25th, 2008, 07:12 AM
I just installed Ubuntu 8.04. This is my first time on Linux and I have no idea what I am doing.

I imported all of my mp3 files onto my computer and imported them into Rhythmbox. But when I try to play any file with sound at all, I hear nothing.

I know that my sound card is working, because I can hear music/videos online perfectly.

I have tried VLC, Ryhthmbox, and Movie Player.

Help. Thanks.

FredB
April 25th, 2008, 07:15 AM
I just installed Ubuntu 8.04. This is my first time on Linux and I have no idea what I am doing.

I imported all of my mp3 files onto my computer and imported them into Rhythmbox. But when I try to play any file with sound at all, I hear nothing.

I know that my sound card is working, because I can hear music/videos online perfectly.

I have tried VLC, Ryhthmbox, and Movie Player.

Help. Thanks.

Juste install ubuntu-restricted-extras package.

Open a terminal and enter :

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras

And it will be ok.

amingv
April 25th, 2008, 07:16 AM
Check this here:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RestrictedFormats

lswest
April 25th, 2008, 07:16 AM
this might be useful to do, and it might fix your problem:
sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras it's a metapackage full of codecs, fonts, flash, etc. Seems like the codecs for mp3 playback aren't installed yet.

*edit* too slow XD

bakersfield90
April 25th, 2008, 07:17 AM
Juste install ubuntu-restricted-extras package.

Open a terminal and enter :

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras

And it will be ok.

I have already installed that. Like I said, I CAN hear music/videos online, just not my own mp3/movie files.

blink0072005
April 25th, 2008, 07:28 AM
I have the exact same problem...in fact, I had just created a thread for this 4 minutes before this one! I wonder if this is a widespread Heron problem (I upgrade from a working Gutsy).

FredB