PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Nvidia driver problems(possibly) with new Hardy Heron

Motif31G
April 25th, 2008, 12:13 AM
Ive installed the new LTS of hardy heron but cant get Compiz to work.

I go to system>preferences>appearance>visual effects click "extra" and I get "desktop effects could not be enabled"

now... ive used gutsy gibbon before and it worked fine but i admint i am new to linux.

I thought installing my nvidia driver would help(duh), so i went to nvidia site and downloaded to the latest drivers that correspond with my card (8800GTS), ran "sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-169.12-pkg1.run" in terminal and get a " Can't open NVIDIA-Linux-x86-169.12-pkg1.run"

in administration>hardware drivers "nvidia_new" is enabled with a red "not in use" showing...

help :(

glennric
April 25th, 2008, 12:17 AM
Are you not able to enable the nvidia-new driver from System->Administration->Hardware Drivers? There should be a check box you can check.

Joeb454
April 25th, 2008, 12:17 AM
Try moving to the directory it's saved in using the cd command and then typing (or copying)
./NVIDIA-Linux-x86-169.12-pkg1.run

glennric
April 25th, 2008, 12:20 AM
I see. I didn't read close enough. You will have to add the line

option nvidia
to the Section "Device" part of the file /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Motif31G
April 25th, 2008, 12:21 AM
Try moving to the directory it's saved in using the cd command and then typing (or copying)

what is "CD"

please excuse me im a bit new

glennric
April 25th, 2008, 12:21 AM

You shouldn't install the drivers downloaded from nvidia. If installed correctly they will work, but they are the same as the nvidia-glx-new drivers in the repositories (for Hardy that is).

mgchan
April 25th, 2008, 12:24 AM

option nvidia

Had the same issue. "Nvidia new" driver was Enabled (checked), but not in use, after installation. Perhaps a restart right away would have worked, I'm not sure, but I installed the nvidia-glx-new driver from Synaptic, restarted, and compiz worked then.