PDA

View Full Version : Is Ubuntu easy like Linspire?

Darrin
October 15th, 2005, 03:24 PM
Im new to the linux world. Have been trying linspire out for about a week. Ive heard a few good things about Ubuntu in the Linspire forums. Is it easy for newbies to use like linspire? What are the major differences between the two? Im downloading the live cd as I type this to mess with it a bit. By the way, how do you pronounce it (oo-boon-too) ?.

Any information on this OS is much appreciated.

az
October 15th, 2005, 03:39 PM
Offhand, the big differences between linspire and Ubuntu are that Linspire liceence 3-rd party codecs and some software, which means that they distribute mp3 support and things like java out-of-the-box. In Ubuntu, since these are not free (as in freedom) but free (as in cost) you must install them yourself.
See here (it is easy):
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/RestrictedFormats

Linspire make their money by providing convenience. Ubuntu probably will be very easy for you to use, but there may be some things you run into that will require you to ask for help here.

Go right ahead and fire away with any questions you may have.

Oh, and Ubuntu runs *much* faster than Linspire.

onesojourner
October 15th, 2005, 03:50 PM
I have only been using ubuntu for about a week and I like it way better than I did linspire. linspire tries to charge you for stuff that should be free if I remember right. I have tried mandrake, linspire then xandros and so far I like ubuntu the best. you might look in the easy ubuntu forum. I have not tried it yet but it sounds like it will make ubuntu just as easy as linspire.

Darrin
October 15th, 2005, 03:50 PM
I did notice Linspire being slow. Especially at boot up. This is what I read to be the reason over at the linspire forums.