View Full Version : [ubuntu] Network IP's only available after /etc/init.d/networking restart

April 24th, 2008, 09:33 PM
Currently in Hardy with my laptop, with the 2200BG wireless card:

description: Wireless interface
product: PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 5
bus info: pci@0000:01:05.0
logical name: eth1
version: 05
serial: 00:15:00:3c:ad:96
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=ipw2200 driverversion=1.2.2kmprq firmware=ABG: (Mar 22 2005) ip= latency=64 maxlatency=24 mingnt=3 module=ipw2200 multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11g

Running wireless with roaming mode enabled. It connects to the internet without a problem, BUT:

I cannot ping/ssh/access my local network's computers, unless I run

/etc/init.d/networking restart

After this I can ping computers until I touch Gnome's network manager (nm-applet 0.6.6).

If, for example, I click the icon and re-choose the same wireless connection I am connected to, ping will result in

From icmp_seq=8 Destination Host Unreachable

If, once again, I restart networking with the init script, it will start working again.

I have my router's IP as default gw in route -n.

Anyone got a clue why this happens?

April 24th, 2008, 09:40 PM

can you post the output of

ip route

before and after touching nm applet...

April 25th, 2008, 12:34 AM
Before: dev eth1 proto kernel scope link src dev eth0 proto kernel scope link src dev eth0 scope link metric 1000
default via dev eth1
default via dev eth0 metric 100

After: dev eth0 proto kernel scope link src dev eth0 scope link metric 1000
default via dev eth0 metric 100

April 25th, 2008, 01:26 AM
I see the same issue when running straight off the live CD.

I am going to try installing and see if that matters.

April 25th, 2008, 01:26 AM
PS. If worse comes to worse, I suppose I can always set it up so /etc/init.d/networking restart runs at startup

April 25th, 2008, 11:02 AM
So, basically, if I click on one of the wireless networks, the removal of

default via dev eth1

makes my default gw disappear. Any idea why?

April 25th, 2008, 11:45 AM
Thinks work normally if eth0 (wired) is changed to DHCP instead of "static IP".

As a result, I submitted a bug in http://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=529865

April 25th, 2008, 03:02 PM
Now that I have installed hardy, I don't have to run /etc/init.d/networking restart but I do have to manually select a wireless network. I cannot seem to set one as default.

April 25th, 2008, 05:52 PM
So, how I understand it you have two network interfaces.
The wireless is eth1 and provides the network connection. After starting /etc/init.d/networking the device eth1 is brought up and set as the standard gateway and everything is working fine.
Touching the applet changes this and removes the device as well as the standard gateway. Why it does so, I don't know. eth0 is left and has no connection to the net...
The script in /etc/init.d/networking is reading the configuration file /etc/network/interfaces. Can you post the output of

cat /etc/network/interfaces

ifconfig -a

I uninstalled the applet in my desktop-machine, but this might not be practical on your machine (laptop?). Does someone know where the applet stores its information and what could cause it to interfere with /etc/network/interfaces?



October 17th, 2008, 05:12 AM
I also have the same problem. I have been reluctant to implement a user script to run the restart command on boot because my computer should grab the info properly on boot. I've pretty much given up and decided to copy/paste a restart script that someone else wrote because the problem is not getting fixed. Bummer.