PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Nvidia driver problems

cky2k6
April 24th, 2008, 08:31 PM
I haven't ubuntu used for a while now, last release i ran was 7.04. I installed 8.04, but when i go into hardware drivers, i can't get the nvidia driver to work... it was already checked as enabled when i got there, which was odd, but it said it was not in use. i unchecked it, and rechecked it, and it told me to restart. however, the same issue was still there in that its still not using the driver. I tried installing the beta driver from nvidia's site, but its telling me to shut down x server... isn't that the windowing system? why the hell would nvidia ask me to shut that down? i'm a linux noob, so i have no idea what on earth is going on, and what to do...

windreiter
April 24th, 2008, 09:12 PM
you have to shut down the x server (yes, the "windowing thing") for a clean installation of the driver.
Press Alt+Ctrl+F1, log in as root and run "/etc/init.d/gdm stop".

Go to the directory where the driver package is storeed and run "sh ./NVIDIA-and-so-on.run" (enter your correct driver package name.

After installing you can either reboot your machine or run "/etc/init.d/gdm start". It should load itself, or you can go there with pressing Alt+Ctrl+F7.

Good luck

warp99
April 24th, 2008, 09:21 PM
I haven't ubuntu used for a while now, last release i ran was 7.04. I installed 8.04, but when i go into hardware drivers, i can't get the nvidia driver to work... it was already checked as enabled when i got there, which was odd, but it said it was not in use. i unchecked it, and rechecked it, and it told me to restart. however, the same issue was still there in that its still not using the driver. I tried installing the beta driver from nvidia's site, but its telling me to shut down x server... isn't that the windowing system? why the hell would nvidia ask me to shut that down? i'm a linux noob, so i have no idea what on earth is going on, and what to do...