PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Hardy video driver headache.

orre64
April 24th, 2008, 08:10 PM
Before I say anything else, I am a newbie to Linux.

Now, I recently hyped myself up awaiting the release of Hardy, telling myself that this would be the moment of clarity, where I could finally give Windows the finger. This, however, did not turn out as expected.

Ubuntu installed quite easily on a dedicated HDD, everything was fine until I wanted to get some drivers for my HD2900XT. Ubuntu politely suggested that I use the restriced drivers, I said what the hell let's go and leaned back while scary text started popping up in the terminal thingy. So far so good.

After reboot, however, I encountered some problems. The splash screen churned on as usual, but after that there was nothing but a black screen and a frozen mouse pointer. (Though I think I did catch the colors on the splash screen getting all grainy and inverted a split second prior to this.)

I figured that I must have done something wrong, although still mighty convinced that googling the the crap out of the problem would fix things. I made a clean install and came across an app called Envy. Using this only resulted in the same black screen upon reboot and subsequently, my second clean install.

Now I'm bummed out to say the least. I mean, what does it take to get a relatively mainstream GPU such as HD2900 to run in Ubuntu? Because I figure that it should be supported, since ATI provides some sort of Linux based driver for it.

Thus, I put my faith in the community; anybody who encountered the same problem as me and solved it?

My system specs are:

Ubuntu Hardy LTS x86_64
Asus P5K
Core 2 E6750
4x Corsair XMS2 CL4 1GB
ATI Radeon HD2900XT

Kowalski_GT-R
April 24th, 2008, 08:16 PM
same here without frozen pointer, I get nothing instead :-)

I guess it all boils down to the same issue with ATI drivers.

I have a Radeon 1600.....I'm waiting to gather info before having another go at the darn proprietary drivers