PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't quite break free from Windows.

Durandall
April 24th, 2008, 07:50 PM
Hello everyone.

It's an odd feeling, being a noob again. I'm new to Linux. I've been running Hardy Heron for a couple weeks now.

Problems I'm having:

~ when the screen saver activates... I usually have to restart. I've worked around that, by disabling the screen saver and turning off the monitor when I'm done. But surely there's a better fix.

~ Video games... when I run one... it runs fine... but! it's like I'm not getting a good v-sync. the screen constantly flickers. I can't explain the way it looks, really. in the case of tuxracer, I can set the resolution to 1680x1050 - then it seems better... but not all games have that option. and some do have the option, but it doesn't fix anything.

my rig - i have an ATI Radeon X1950 XTX, with drivers and stuff installed via Envy. My monitor is a 22" LCD, Widescreen 1680x1050. I have no idea what the hz is set to. As of this moment, it's still running the Heron Beta. I'm downloading the official release now - but I wont know if that fixes everything until hours from now.

Another question... I realized recently... I don't know how to do basic stuff anymore. Like... burn an ISO. Is there a Nero, or Nero equivalent for Ubuntu?

pytheas22
April 24th, 2008, 08:33 PM
Another question... I realized recently... I don't know how to do basic stuff anymore. Like... burn an ISO. Is there a Nero, or Nero equivalent for Ubuntu?

You should be able simply to right-click on the ISO file and there will be an option like "Open with CD/DVD Creator," which makes burning it really easy. If you want a more extensive program for CD/DVD creation, install k3b, which is extremely powerful.