PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Upgrade from 7.10 to 8.04

jab1
April 24th, 2008, 07:41 PM
is it ok to have applications such as firefox & pidgin open while the update is fetching for new packages?

also, while its fetching for new packages - it sometimes says 'xxxx of xxxx packages downloaded , speed, time remaining etc' and sometimes it just says ' fetching for new packages' which lets me think that its frozen or something has gone wrong..... it said the upgrade would be done in 1 hour some minutes but it took more than that and i canceled the upgrade process ...

im very new to linux, as you can see

thanks

hackle577
April 24th, 2008, 07:43 PM
is it ok to have applications such as firefox & pidgin open while the update is fetching for new packages?

Yes.

also, while its fetching for new packages - it sometimes says 'xxxx of xxxx packages downloaded , speed, time remaining etc' and sometimes it just says ' fetching for new packages' which lets me think that its frozen or something has gone wrong..... it said the upgrade would be done in 1 hour some minutes but it took more than that and i canceled the upgrade process ...

Everyone is trying to update at the same time, which is slowing the server down. Patience is key :-)

encompass
April 24th, 2008, 07:45 PM
There can be very very long delays... it's best you let it run. If you don't see any change in say 30 minutes. I would start to get worried. But onces changes start to be installed, in other words your done downloading and your installing, goodness sakes, don't cancel. It's better to let it wait a long time. And no, according to the instructions you should not be running anything.
I always try to do installs rather than upgrades, they are faster and cleaner. So if you can do that, it's much faster. Especially on older computers.

swoll1980
April 24th, 2008, 07:45 PM