PDA

View Full Version : Help with partitions before the installation.

wthoang
April 24th, 2008, 11:59 AM
ok...im currently running the live CD to 7.10...just testing it before 8.04 comes...im new to this...i just ordered the cd a few weeks bak. anywho...wat im wondering is that im using windows...ive got a 60gig harddrive (its an older laptop)...and ive got about 22gigs left. Now is it just as simple as wanting to set up 22gigs for the partition...could i please get a step by step guide? ive searched...but im pretty noob...(im an advanced mac user)

overdrank
April 24th, 2008, 12:52 PM
ok...im currently running the live CD to 7.10...just testing it before 8.04 comes...im new to this...i just ordered the cd a few weeks bak. anywho...wat im wondering is that im using windows...ive got a 60gig harddrive (its an older laptop)...and ive got about 22gigs left. Now is it just as simple as wanting to set up 22gigs for the partition...could i please get a step by step guide? ive searched...but im pretty noob...(im an advanced mac user)

HI and welcome, I would like to say yes to being simple but it depends on how many partitions are on the existing drive. You are limited to 4 primary partition to the drive unless you have a extended partition. :KS

wthoang
April 24th, 2008, 12:57 PM
^^^
well...i havent done anything as of yet...ive just been using windows...theres no other partitions set up yet...all im wondering is do i just click...manual once i reach the prepare disk space? ive got the other option of Guided-use entire disk...

EDIT:once ive clicked on manual...i clicked new partition table but it says

You have selected an entire device to partition. If you proceed with creating a new partition table on the device, then all current partitions will be removed.

Note that you will be able to undo this operation later if you wish.

overdrank
April 24th, 2008, 01:23 PM
^^^