PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] After loading screen, black screen with wait cursor!

pj_rage
April 24th, 2008, 01:12 PM
I'm very new to linux. About 3 months ago I installed Gutsy (I think, it's version 7.10 anyway) on a laptop I had kicking around. It worked fine, no problems, but then I never really used it. A couple days ago I decided I would start toying around again, and finally got my display settings right so that it took up the whole 1600x1200 screen and looked great. I had logged in/out to get the settings to change, but not restart.

Then, I installed tcl8.5 because I wanted to start trying out tcl. For the record, this laptop isn't on the net and can't be, so I can't use the apt-get stuff I see everywhere. Anyway, I downloaded the package, copied it over, double clicked it, and it seemed to install just fine. As soon as it was done, I wanted to try a script I wrote out, so I tried to open a terminal. I was able to move the mouse and select it from the menu, but it didn't open. I tried a few times, and it let me click, but just didn't do anything. I tried a few other programs, and tried viewing my computer and stuff and nothing would open/happen. So I figured it needed a restart. So I did, and right after the ubunut loading screen where the progress bar advances, where it would normally go staight to a visual login screen, it went to a black screen with the animated wait cursor.

I did a ton of searches and all I can find are people with the same problem, but none of the threads ever found a resolution.