PDA

View Full Version : 100% linux

LausArndon
April 24th, 2008, 12:15 AM
I haven't been using linux for all that long, but I think I'm just about ready to kick Windows off my PC for good. I just had to say that. I'm getting pretty excited.

Cifra
April 24th, 2008, 12:32 AM
I've been using Linux since 2001 and I still dual-boot. Sometimes you just need XP for a few aps which don't run, and in my opinion, letting XP have those 5 gb of space and a little boot entry on the bottom of my GRUB menu doesn't hurt at all.

frup
April 24th, 2008, 12:41 AM
I've been using Linux since late 2005 and the whole time I have been using only Linux. In my opinion anything other than games that could require a dual boot can be achieved by a virtual machine.

Tatty
April 24th, 2008, 12:45 AM
I've been using Linux since 2001 and I still dual-boot. Sometimes you just need XP for a few aps which don't run, and in my opinion, letting XP have those 5 gb of space and a little boot entry on the bottom of my GRUB menu doesn't hurt at all.

+1

I advise to dual boot, from experience i can say you will probably be kicking yourself that one time you really need to use a windows application which wont run in wine.

Nothing wrong with having windows installed, you have paid for it already so why not? :popcorn:

Cifra
April 24th, 2008, 12:45 AM
It's not just games, you know. What about professional video editing software, and pro audio programs? It's stil a big problem.

LausArndon
April 24th, 2008, 01:07 AM
Practically all the programs I use in Windows have a linux version, or an easy replacement. I haven't booted to Windows in weeks, but I'm still going to wait a bit longer to make sure I'm good. If I don't feel comfortable without it I may just use VirtualBox.

frup
April 24th, 2008, 01:12 AM
It's not just games, you know. What about professional video editing software, and pro audio programs? It's stil a big problem.