PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu in Schools

undoIT
April 23rd, 2008, 11:34 PM
Have any efforts been made to have Ubuntu available in the educational system? When I was in school K-12 (kindergarten thru high school) we had Macs. I guess there was some sort of deal between Apple and the public school I was attending. If Ubuntu were used in the educational system, it would be a huge step in the right direction for gaining mass acceptance of Linux as a viable operating system.

I have used a lot of different computers and operating systems. I am a web developer and in front of the computer anywhere from 8-16 hours a day for work and creative projects. It is not an exaggeration when I say that Ubuntu Gutsy is by far the best operating system I have used. Can't wait for Hardy Heron to be released tomorrow. Seems to me that Ubuntu is ready for mass consumption.

It makes a lot of sense to have Ubuntu available in schools.

It is cost-effective (can't beat free)
It comes loaded with just about all the productivity tools needed by students for scholarly and creative projects. Again, cost-effective.
It is, in my experience, more intuitive and productive than either Windows or OS X once you learn how to use it.
If people grow up with Ubuntu, using it would become second nature. I think the biggest mental hurdle to trying Linux is not wanting to have to learn something new.

Is there an outreach program for the educational system? If so, how's it going?

smartboyathome
April 23rd, 2008, 11:37 PM
Ubuntu makes edubuntu, but other than that not as much.

Mazza558
April 23rd, 2008, 11:41 PM
Yes, Spain plans to migrate 500,000 PCs to Ubuntu.

Joeb454
April 23rd, 2008, 11:44 PM
I was reading about this the other day :) I'm glad to see Ubuntu spreading (well...Linux in general)

It's getting there...slowly but surely

undoIT
April 24th, 2008, 12:05 AM
Yes, Spain plans to migrate 500,000 PCs to Ubuntu.

Awesome! Let's get this going globally :D

NightwishFan
April 24th, 2008, 12:08 AM